Nice, France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
September 24th 2010
Published: December 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Paris, France to Nice, France


Nice Hotel RoomNice Hotel RoomNice Hotel Room

What a Welcome to Nice!!
I board the train with high expectations. I am ready for the beach. More precisely, the Mediterranean Sea. I have seen it on maps, read about it in social studies, and saw it in maps in my bible. I could not believe that I was going. I was excited. My first destination was a city named Adge. It was on the coast, and was an easier, shorter destination from Paris than my next destination. I boarded the train, and it was actually quite comfortable. I struck up a conversation with the guy sitting beside me, and he was an American that moved to Italy seven or eight years ago. He lived in a city called Nimes. I wanted to go there, but my time was very limited at this point. We discussed my destination, and he told me what stop to get off the train at. I have learned that it does not hurt to ask for help or directions. You just never know who you will be asking. Who would have knew an American would have been sitting beside me?
I got to my stop, and then I thought o myself, “Now What”? I found a taxi stand, and there was a taxi driver there, however he was already loading up someone else. I went to another taxi waiting area, and I waited, and waited, and waited. I think I waited for a taxi for about twenty to thirty minutes. This may not sound long, however where I was was a little desolate, and there was not a whole lot of people around. I was not really scared, just very anxious. Finally, a cab driver came. I gave the directions to my hotel, and off we went. Upon arrival, I got checked in, and the first thing I wanted to do was to go to the Sea. I wanted to put my feet in the Mediterranean Sea. I looked outside my window, and it was starting to rain. I got my rain jacket on, and off I went. My hotel was not exactly on the beach, too pricey, so I had to cross a street, and go down several roads. This was okay when I started out, for it was still daylight. I finally made it to the beach. The Mediterranean Sea was in sight. How beautiful it was. Even though it was raining, well actually misting at this point. The wind was blowing, and the waves were rolling in. The air was fresh and the beach seemed to go on for miles. What beauty I have stepped upon. It was getting darker by the minute, so I rapidly found me a way onto the beach. I walked down to the edge where the water was rolling onto the beach, took off my flip-flops and inserted my feet. What joy came over me for that brief few seconds. I would have walked along the beach and in the water longer, however the rain appeared to be moving in, and it was really started to get dark. Oh and by the way, I was a pretty good walk from my hotel, and I was not actually sure of the directions since I made so many turns which was in the daylight. I thought it best to head back. After walking for a few minutes, one of my first fears came true. I did not remember the directions back. Now, one thing I have learned for years of travel in Europe, you will get lost. You just have to keep a logical head, and you will find your way back. I think I walked in the same circle three or four times. The rain was starting now as well. Oh well, I thought. Just keep walking. What other choice did I have at this moment? My mind was racing, and I was already getting short of cash, so I went ahead and stopped at the ATM while wandering around and go some more Euros. Now at least I had enough money in case I had to try and find a cab. Good luck with this I was thinking. Long story short, I wandered for a very good while in circles, and finally, I saw a landmark that was familiar. My heart was relieved. I made my way on an instinct, and there was my hotel Yea. I was so happy to find it. By this point, I did not want any supper or anything for I had lost my appetite, and was mentally drained, so I made my way to my room. As I was only here for one day, I repacked my things in a more organized fashion. After many days of just throwing my clothes in my bag, this was a needed action. I rested a bit watching the television, and made my way to bed. Tomorrow would be a long travel day, and I needed to be fresh.
I checked out of my hotel, and I asked the hostess to call me a cab in which she did. I waited and waited and waited. What is it about these French cab drivers? Anyway, he finally came, and off I went to the train station. I must say that I was ashamed of myself for thinking negatively about all French cab drivers after this experience. We start off, and I judged before I should have. I asked the fare, and the driver told me around sixteen Euros’. My first thought was how far around sixteen Euros’? My driver had long hair and his cab looked like a rock and roll cab with his stuff hanging from his mirror, and the stuff on his dashboard. He was listening to Nirvana, which I didn’t mind, so I guess this was a plus. Anyway, he also stopped for gas while he was on the meter. I was getting a little antsy at this point, and I was thinking that he was doing this just to run up my fare. The way he took me back to the train station was not familiar to me, and I also thought he was taking me the long way; again to run up the fare. We arrived at the train station, and at this point, I wanted to just exit the cab and pay my fare. I looked at the meter, and I got my money ready based on the fare amount. I handed to him, and to my surprise, he handed me back two Euros. I did not know what to say but thanks. This fare actually cost me less than the one I took the previous day. I learned a valuable lesson from this short fifteen minutes that I hope to remember on future adventures.
I board my train and took my seat. I was about to ride the train for four plus hours, and I really just wanted to relax. I did so for the first three fourths of my trip, and at one of the stops, I asked the guy sitting beside me if he was from Nice. He said he was, and I asked him if he could tell me the best way to get to my hotel. I showed him my itinerary, and he said, “This is not in Nice”. My heart sank. You have no idea at this point what I was thinking. Yep. Oh CRAP. He told me that it was actually two stops before Nice. The address on the internet is Nice, but this is a little on the outside of the main town. He told me he would show me my stop, however on the train we were on, it did not stop there. Oh CRAP. He said that I would have to get off in Nice and get on a different local train. Okay. I can do this. Not as big of a deal as I thought.
We arrive at the Nice station, and the guy sitting beside me told me that he would show me where to check for the train, and I was very appreciative at this point. I followed him up the stairs, and he looked on the large boards that show the arrivals and departures. He told me the train that I needed, but he said it is leaving right now, and that I would need to get to a specific platform pretty quick. I shook his hand, thanked him, and pretty much took off in a semi run. The funny thing is that I did not look at the board to see all the details. I trusted this complete stranger and got on this train. The ways the trains work are the same as the metros that I have been on in Rome and Paris. If you know the ending destination and your stop is along that route, you are on the right train. So I made my way back down the stairs in a pretty mad dash. I think I might have knocked a few people out of my way, but I said sorry as I continued in my hurried pace. I got to the platform and the train was still there. I pretty much jumped in the door, and pretty soon thereafter the door shut. I made it! Now on this local train, you do not have to have a reservation. You just take whatever seat is available. So I took an available seat, and off I was again. My stop was the second stop, so when the train stopped there, I got off. I was a little hesitant, for again I trusted a complete stranger, but so far my luck was good taking directions from the locals, and they really were trying to help me. Also, the stop was the same name as the address on my itinerary, so I felt a little more at ease. I asked for directions in the train station, and the guy I asked could not speak very good English. We pretty much communicated with hand gestures, and after he saw the name of my hotel, he pointed to a street and he said go until the sea and turn right. Okay. This sounded good to me so off I went. I walked across a bridge, over the street and down to the other side. I made a quick left turn and walked about on-half mile. There was a large shopping complex to my left that was fairly crowded so I thought I could surely find someone that could help me. Then I noticed the sea was very close to me. Just behind some buildings and trees. I got to the sea, and I did as explained and turned right. Now what? I started walking, and by this time it was getting dark. Oh, and I also had my backpack on me that was getting a wee bit uncomfortable, for I had some blisters on my feet, and I really needed to get this extra weight off of me. I walked a little bit, and I saw two gentlemen sitting on a park bench. They appeared to me a father and son. I went to asked them if they spoke English. They did a little, so I showed them my destination. They knew I, and they told me to continue on and it was a yellow building. Great I thought, for it was getting darker, and everything was looking grey to me at this point. I thanked them and continued on. About another eighth of a mile or so, I found my hotel. It was yellow and green, and actually I could see the yellow, so his instructions helped. I made my way to the front entrance, and I checked in. How glad I was to enter my room and get my shoes off. I finally made it to my last hotel. No more packing and unpacking until I get ready to leave to go home. This is actually a pretty good feeling at this point. I love these hotels, for they welcome you with your name on the television in the foreign language. I have never had a welcome in French, and I thought this was pretty cool. I went out again just to walk around, and I made my way to the large shopping complex. This time, I took the main road, and it was much quicker than walking on the beach. It was actually a straight walk, albeit about on-half of a mile, but a straight walk none the less. I went into the grocery store and bought some snacks. Ahh, I felt like now I was back travelling like I have in the past. Get me a bag of chips, some muffins, and something to drink, and I am good to go for a few days. I make my way back carrying my purchases. In Europe, at least my experience, you have to bring your own bag to put your groceries in. Lucky for me I had my day bag, and I stuffed them in there. I make my way back, and I turn in for the night. Tomorrow would be a pretty big travel day, so I decide to get some rest.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb