Nice is Nice!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
May 31st 2010
Published: May 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Italy! I arrived in Venice, Italy very late last night, due to train delays. I’ll get to that in my next post, but now I’ll tell you all about my wonderful time in Nice, and my last night in Vence, France. On Saturday morning I meant to get up early, but ended up sleeping an hour or so later than I wanted. That was fine, I obviously needed the sleep! I eventually made my way to the bus stop, after grabbing a chocolate croissant, and was off to Nice for the day. The bus ride to Nice takes about an hour and it’s beautiful! With stops through the mountains to Cannes, I couldn’t ask for a better, or cheaper (1 Euro), ride to Nice. Once I arrived I just began to wander, which seems to be the norm for me on this trip. I tend to enjoy that more than knowing exactly where and when to go somewhere. I eventually ended up walking along the Promenade des Anglais, which runs along the sea all through town. It’s beautiful! The beaches are a little different, they’re all rocks instead of sand. I think it’s all river rock, so they’re at least smooth, but still not easy on the feet. I walked along the Promenade until I ended up at the office of tourism to grab a map and see if there were any tours. I just decided to let my feet guide me, and it ended up being a wonderful day. After the tourism office I stopped for lunch and had Pizza then continued to wander. I’ve enjoyed taking photos of just about everything, so I think that’s what’s made me just wander. I looked through some shops, and somehow I always end up on the street with the expensive shops, like Louis Vuitton and Chanel…and Longchamp! Yes, I bought the bag! It’s very simple, and purple, and I love it. It was less expensive than I remembered, so I have no buyer’s remorse!
I eventually stopped for ice cream and then made my way down to the shore. I thought since I’m here, I might as well dip my feet in the ocean and cool off. It wasn’t that easy because once you get to the water there’s a drop off and you basically have to jump in. So I just sat on the edge and hoped the water would crash against the shore and get my feel a little wet, which it did. I found a few rocks to keep…I know that sounds weird, but if you knew my Mom you knew she loved rocks! I found one shaped like a heart, which she seemed to have an eye for.
It was about 4pm at this point so I made my way back to the bus station and hopped on the next bus back to Vence. I returned to my hotel briefly before heading out to find dinner. I went to the place I wanted to go the night before, but the rain stopped me. It was a lovely place right on the edge of what seemed to be the “town square” of the historic center of Vence. It was located somewhat around a corner, tucked away, but close enough that I could hear the local Saturday night music and knew that as soon as I walked around the corner after dinner I’d see people dancing.
I really enjoyed watching the locals tonight. There was a table full of about 10 people celebrating someone’s birthday, and there were two little girls. Eventually they decided they wanted to dance to the music, so they did and it was so much fun to watch them. Once I was done with my meal the waiter, who had been dancing with the little girls, had one of them bring me my check. She was adorable, and seemed so proud to be helping. It made me miss my niece! Hi “Bella”!
As I was sitting at my table tonight, I think for the first time I really noticed the empty chair across from me. Mom should be sitting there…she would never want to leave France if she were there. This town was a great reminder of the simple things in life, and to never take a moment for granted. I have a new view on life, on my life, after this first week on my own in Europe. I have certainly been learning a lot about myself along this journey, and hope that I’ve inspired others to take the same leap and try something out of your comfort zone. You won’t have any regrets, trust me!
After dinner I walked through the town square and stopped to watch the locals enjoying the music and dancing. It was all so French, and I loved every second! As soon as I returned to my hotel I was fast asleep since I had to be up at 6am to catch the bus back to Nice so I could catch my train to Venice, Italy!
If I don't get a chance to post tomorrow about Venice, I won't be able to until I get to Rome on Friday. I don't have wifi at my hotel in Florence but i'll try to get to an internet cafe. I hope you all had a wonderful Memorial Day, and enjoy your short work week!


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



31st May 2010

rocks
Oh yes the rocks - I have a little collection of my own from various travels, times, places. Quite a good way to remember a place if I do say so myself (Obviously mom did too!) I hope you enjoy Italy as much as I did. You must go to the museums in Florence - at least one. And order the truffle ravioli - one of my all time favorites!
2nd June 2010
Vence-Nice 184

Those are pretty Peonies.

Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb