A Little Taste of Italy (108 km)


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Menton
June 26th 2013
Published: March 19th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I-can-see-the-mediterranean!I-can-see-the-mediterranean!I-can-see-the-mediterranean!

And also some of my descent.
Even though we started off the day at the col and the forecast called for rain developing in the morning, I opted to start with a 4km climb up to the Circuit de l'Authion, a 9 km loop that was said to offer magnificent 360 degree views. True enough, once I reached the start of the loop I could see the Mediterranean, but the road then descended and the clouds had already started to form, so I cut short my investigation and proceeded down what is purported to be one the top driving roads in the world.

Unfortunately, there were spots when the pavement was not very cycle-friendly - particularly before Molinet - but where conditions were better, the descent was a fun way to start the day. Once at Sospel I elected to take the optional side-trip to Italy that first required passing through the Col de Brouis. This proved to be an excellent choice as the ensuing downhill run was fantastic, culminating in the by-now-familiar wind-impeded runout through a gorge. Just past the Italian border, however, rain started to fall so I quickly sought shelter in San Michele.

When it finally let up I started the climb
Skid MarksSkid MarksSkid Marks

I Wonder How Things Turned Out
back towards France. The road into Olivetta-San-Michele wasn't bad (although the pavement at this point was quite literally steaming) but the town didn't seem to want visitors to leave: the way out pitched steeply skyward before finally relenting just short of the French border. The road then deteriorated for a bit as the grade increased, and my rear tire actually spun as I sought to gain traction on one of the wet climbs. Soon enough, though, I had reached the Col de Vescavo and made my way back to Sospel to resume my journey to the sea.

One more Col (de Castillon, making 4 cols for the day) and it was all downhill to Menton.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

col-de-brouiscol-de-brouis
col-de-brouis

There was no sign at Col de Perus (and the road kept climbing to here).
Not Quite Roman ArchesNot Quite Roman Arches
Not Quite Roman Arches

Always nice to see, but not usually this close to the road. I think this structure dates back only to the early 1900s.
down-we-godown-we-go
down-we-go

It may have been only an 879m col, but the ride down was fantastic. Wheee!
Italy!Italy!
Italy!

Buongiorno!
waiting-out-the-rain-in-san-michelewaiting-out-the-rain-in-san-michele
waiting-out-the-rain-in-san-michele

Giving it my best disgusted Pantani look.
heading-back-down-to-sospelheading-back-down-to-sospel
heading-back-down-to-sospel

Note the Roman arches.
the-long-way-down-to-the-mediterranean-and-mentonthe-long-way-down-to-the-mediterranean-and-menton
the-long-way-down-to-the-mediterranean-and-menton

A 10% grade into town and rush hour are not a nice mix.
palm-trees!palm-trees!
palm-trees!

From the High Alps to the Sea - looks like we made it.
A Happy/Sad Crowd At DinnerA Happy/Sad Crowd At Dinner
A Happy/Sad Crowd At Dinner

Happy to have made it to the Mediterranean, sad to see our adventure drawing to a close.


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb