Au Revoir Cannes!


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The end has come of my time in Cannes. I packed today and I will leave tomorrow night. It's been a great trip, I've met a lot of cool people and been able to visit a lot of places!
The film festival was a really cool experience. I saw a total of eight movies. They were all very different, and honestly I would only see a couple of them a second time. My favorite was "La Silence de Lorna" which was from the same directors as "L'enfant" which won the Palm D'Or a couple years ago. I wasn't able to see the one that won this year, hopefully I will in the future once it's released. I went to a movie on the beach one night, that was fun. We saw "Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?" A lot of students at the college got internships during the festival. My friend Mandy had an internship and was invited to a party so she took a couple of us with her. It was really cool, there was free wine and appetizers and it was at a nice house in Cannes. There weren't any celebrities there though. Once the festival was over, it was amazing how fast the buildings changed. It's been four days now and pretty much everything is back to being the same as before the festival. They really go all out for just one week!
On Tuesday I decided to take a day trip to Nice. I had been there for Carnival, but hadn't spent any time there just wandering around the city so that's exactly what I did. Nice is a nice town! I found the old town part where there was a nice little market so I bought some cherries and ate them at the beach. The beach is rocky up in Nice, I'm pretty glad it's sandy in Cannes though, it's easier to walk on barefoot!
The last week hasn't been the best of weather unfortunately. It's been rainy or windy almost everyday, not good beach weather! I guess it will make it a little easier to leave then! Many of the students here are going home, but a few are doing more traveling around after the program. I get the feeling a lot are ready to go home, but it will be sad saying goodbye!
I will leave tomorrow night at 8pm taking the train from Cannes to Munich, where I'll meet up with Morgan, my roommate at CU, and her friend Brittany. We will spend a couple days in Munich and then Morgan and I will continue on to Vienna, while Brittany has to head on home. From Vienna, Morgan and I plan on going somewhere in the Czech Republic and then up to Krakow and Warsaw. Morgan will have to leave me in Warsaw but I'll head on over to Berlin for a few days before I fly down to Barcelona to meet my dad! Dad and I will go to Madrid from Barcelona and then down to Casablanca, Morocco, then Marrakesh and finally up to France to head on home. I'm really excited for this trip, it'll definitely be an adventure!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb