Visitors


Advertisement
Published: May 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I had a number of visitors the other weekend! It was the very beginning of May and first, Grammy and Papa stopped by during a cruise they were taking around the Mediterannean. That was really nice to see them! I walked down the the port where they were tendered in and found them without a problem. It took awhile for them to be tendered in but the weather was nice so I didn't mind waiting. We ate breakfast at a cafe and then walked back to my school where I showed them where I'd been living for the last three months. I think they were impressed, especially with my room, I do love my room here. Then we walked back into town where I gave them the tour of the Suquet and Cheap Street, which is a nickname of a street where you can buy pretty much anything at a relatively good price. Then we walked on down to the palace where the film festival was going to take place in a couple more weeks and ate lunch along the beach. That was very good, definitely nice to get away from the cafeteria food once in a while! Afterwards we sat along the boardwalk and just talked. It was so great to see them even though it was for a short time! They told me about the cruise they were on and all the different stops they were taking and things they were seeing. It sounded like quite the cruise! We got some ice cream later and then I dropped them back off at the port because I was expecting Morgan and her friend Brittany to arrive by train sometime that night.
Well, after saying good bye to Grammy and Papa I hurried back to the college to find out what time to expect Morgan and Brittany. They had sent me a message saying they'd arrive by six so by the time I made it to the train station from the college it was exactly six and they were walking right towards me! It worked out perfectly! So I took them back to the college where they rested and showered and then we went out to dinner at an Italian place. It was very good with good wine too! The next day we ate some brunch, they were quite impressed with the college's brunch, and then I gave them the official tour of Cannes and then we headed to the beach. It was a nice relaxing day at the beach and warm enough to really enjoy the water! Later we came back and got cleaned up and tried to work out travel plans. Morgan and Brittany had both studied abroad in Barcelona and their program had ended at the end of April so they were traveling for a month before I could catch up with them at the end of May. They had gotten a train pass and we were having a hard time figuring out all the different logistics so we decided to try to work it out again the next day. So the next day we got up and had brunch again and then went to Antibes for the day. Antibes is another town pretty close to Cannes which I hadn't seen much of but had heard good things about. It was a cute town! There were quite a few little shops open and we found a nice little park to sit down and figure out our plans. We finally got those all worked out, I'll meet them in Munich once my program is finished and then Brittany will have to leave after that but Morgan and I will continue on to Vienna, Czech Republic, and Poland where Morgan will have to leave and then I'll head to Berlin for a few days before going to Barcelona to meet my dad. I'm really excited about these plans, it'll definitely be an adventure but I think it will work out well!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb