On the Home Stretch


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Avignon
March 25th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The HermitageThe HermitageThe Hermitage

This building would have had a nice view of the harbour, if not for the construction site across the road
Yes, it's me again. I wanted to add more to the previous entry, but the shop was closing up.

So Monaco is just a huge piece of (ongoing) construction sitting on the side of a big hill. I think the train station is built *into* a cliff! And the cars...mm mm tasty! Ferraris, Lambos, Maseratis, even a couple of American muscles. And the scooters. For every car you see 5 scooters - it was the same in Italy. They fill every gap like mud through pebbles, even going 2 or 3 abreast down the other side of the road.
I look at my map and think "Hmm, only about an hour before I have to head for Avignon. What do I defenitely want to do?" The Monaco Aquarium. Its an old building perched on the side of a cliff, and it pumps all its tank water straight from the ocean. Here is my tip for all those interested. If you want to go to a famous aquarium; go to this one. However, if you want to go to a *good* aquarium, stick with Underwater World or Seaworld. They are at least 10 times better than this one. It didn't help
Main Street to the HarbourMain Street to the HarbourMain Street to the Harbour

All traffic passes through here down to the harbour
that the whole thing was indoors, and their "big tank" - with small sharks and stuff - was *maybe* half the size of out living room. I was out of there in about 15 minutes. And that was about it: I took a few more photos and figured it was about time to disappear. I plugged Avignon into the GPS, and 2 1/2 hours later here I am.

Wow, its hard to believe I'll be back in Paris again in 2 days, and flying home in a week. I am sort of looking forward to it. This adventure has been *sooo* much more than I'd hoped, and I wouldn't have skipped it for anything, but I think once I get home I'll be happy to just stay in one place for a while.

Still thinking of home, Steve.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The HarbourThe Harbour
The Harbour

Boats ranging from *small* 40-foot yachts to private cruise ships
A Typical ParkA Typical Park
A Typical Park

I think Monaco has some of the most gorgeous parks I've seen anywhere. This one is just outside the harbour
MonacoMonaco
Monaco

This photo takes in about half of the entireity of Monaco


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb