Chillin', fruit and creatures


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Pays-de-la-Loire
August 11th 2007
Published: August 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

11th August 2007

Bonjour Bo & Dud,

The week before we left home we were both like tightly coiled springs about to ‘boing’ off in any direction at the slightest touch - if you could see us now, in complete contrast, so relaxed we’re almost horizontal. We spent last weekend following the shade of an oak tree which is in the middle of the field - temperatures got up to 35c. This included eating al fresco (with me in my cossie) and Howard found an ingenious way of keeping the wine cool and close at hand with the help of a local mole - photograph attached.

We’ve done quite a lot of walking this week. We can easily walk into the village of Vernoil for bread (a 3 mile round trip), and, we are straight into the surrounding woods from the site. About 10 miles away is the village of Rille, there is a nature reserve just outside the village and a large lake (Lac du Pincemaille). It is a superb place, there are walks around the lake, fishing and swimming (with life guard). Right next to the lake is a campsite, it has facilities for families with their own tents and caravans, but it also has the most wonderful wooden huts. There is a pool, bar and restaurant; the whole place is rather wonderful. Have a look and see if there’s a web site - ‘Hutopia’.

Around the orchard on site, there are the most enormous blackberries, we’ve had them with yogurt for breakfast, on cereal, made into puree, and by mid week I couldn’t resist the temptation any longer - ‘mother earth’ syndrome had kicked in!! I’ve never used the cooker in the caravan for baking before so this was a journey into the unknown for me - I made apple and blackberry tart, the pastry was a little soggier on the bottom then I would have liked, but Howard
took to the challenge of eating it and it went in 2 sittings. He’s suggested that I need more practise and he is more than happy to give his expert opinion on the goods I produce - he’s totally selfless that man. I am as you know a connoisseur of kilner jars, in all sizes. I resisted the urge to bring any jars with me (weight and all that) and I have been looking at
Mole HillMole HillMole Hill

The friendly mole wine holder and cooler
them longingly in the supermarket. Fortunately I had an empty cornichon jar, so Bramble Jelly followed a few days later. Howard is now eating it on bread, on toast and I fancy a little Brioche next time we go shopping.

We also have the usual influx of creatures who have decided to move into the awning. I had already declared this the year of the spider - they’ve almost become like jewellery since we arrived, I seem to have at least 2 on me at any one time. We’ve also been visited by a rather interesting stick insect and a vivid green grass hopper; both were given immediate ‘notice to quit’!!

So, my dahlings, nothing very exciting this week - just enjoying France and what it has to offer.

Speak soon.
Love H & H x



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Blackberry TartBlackberry Tart
Blackberry Tart

Well, blackberry and apple really 1st attempt in the caravan oven
Stick InsectStick Insect
Stick Insect

This delightful creature was just over 11cm (4 1/2") long. Quite a suprise at breakfast.
Boris The SpiderBoris The Spider
Boris The Spider

Resident of our awning
GrasshopperGrasshopper
Grasshopper

Given notice to quit at the end of a long stick (poke, pokey)


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb