Day 15 - Paris (1/1/10)


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
January 1st 2010
Published: July 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

New Years Morning (otherwise known as we went out into the Paris night and made it alive for the next day). You know, all these months later it took a while to remember what the breakfast was actually like in the hotel. I really miss also that my Cosmos book was lost on the bus as I had all the wake up times listed. Breakfast was a more casual event of start when you want to, so not as formal as some of the other venues, and was a decent spread to get through the day.

For the morning we had our tour of the city. This morning it was freezing. The maximum expected temperature was all of 1 degree. Was I dressed correctly yet again.... nope! Being new years day alot of the optional tours were not available and there was only the boat cruise/tower climb one on offer. (Actually now that I remember it, the previous night they were really pushing their farewell dinner/new years eve party - but the price was over 100 euros per person, it was all you could drink but as I dont, and my son though he wishes couldn't, there was no point doing it. Not that many people attended it).

Back to the tour. Our first stop, and I'm sure we saw stuff on the way, but this being written some six months later, I guess it wasn't that memorable was the Notre Dame church. Once again we had a tour guide, and I can't say I was paying too much attention, I was freezing to death! We stayed on the outside of the church for a while and I'm sure what she was saying was interesting, I just wasn't too impressed with the outside look. We stepped inside and oh man! Now that was worth it! I had a total field day in there, it honestly was so beautiful! We got to follow her around the church, and I'm sure a few of us got told off for one thing or another, but I managed to miss out this time 😊 Now if some of the photos seem a bit blury (I should have checked properly before publishing them) its because I didn't use a tripod and no flash was used. I totally adore my camera. It also explains some of the interesting photo angles as I would lean against the pillars to hold the camera steady for the shots, but I loved it in there, as you could probably tell!

After this, we were taken to what I'm sure are cosmos sponsered stores to "buy" our trinkets. I told my son to come to the other side where a park was and initally he was grumpy but hey, I know my son and soon put him on the spinny thing, and he was falling over having a total ball (plus I had no cash and desparately needed an atm so we couldn't buy anything even if I wanted to).

We then rode around in the bus for a while seeing the sights of Paris. There was a ten minute only stop outside of the Eifle Tower for people to take a snap shot quite a distance away from the structure, so it wasn't like you would get to run down to it during this time. Having already filled my camera with photos the previous night meant it was a race out, snap a few shots then scramble back onto the bus to try and warm up.

I have to admit, Paris is quite a pretty city. They do have a fascination for using either gold or shiny Gold look on their buildings and structures. makes for a very different look, especially in the drab greyness of the majority of it. Driving around the Arc de Triomphe was amazing. Its like this massive open space classified as a round-about from hell! There are no lines and size rules in the end. French drivers are also totally awesome like their Roman counterparts. Whilst going around the circle, I couldn't help but laugh at the fact one woman was sitting outside her car on the window, to be able to film the Arc. Pretty impressive, and so very wrong!

We did see alot of the city, but again, it is by bus and not like you can jump on and off as you please to explore anything. Before long we were back by the Lourve where those going on the afternoon excursion either had 45 mins or maybe it was only 30 to get lunch before having to depart as the schedule was tight! Those who weren't going had to meet back there at around 5pm to get a free trip back to the hotel.

I just remember being rushed!!!! Trying to find an ATM in that city was not an easy feat! I should have been a touch more prepared I think. Picked up some t-shirts and key rings for home (one trick with the key rings, they will have 4 for 10 or 3 for 10 (can't remember how much they were) but anyway, I chose 3 from the cheaper bracket and had to slide in one from the dearer one. was told that I had picked from the wrong one and go back and pick again, so decide no, i wouldn't buy it and went to walk away, they then allowed me to purchase it at that cheaper price). yeh, so it might be small, but hey, after the fact with the majority of things you are supposed to barter that was probably my "big" win.

So the afternoon tour on offer for the 40 euro was the river cruise and tower climb. The river cruise is floating along the river back down past the Notre Dame Church for a way then turning around back to the tower. You go under a heck of alot of bridges and I guess its nice just sitting there. There is a really good commentary to listen to in every language possible on the biggest weapon of a metal bar! If you get a bit tired of listening to what the woman is saying we would flip the language to spanish or french to get a different opinion of the place. Joel sat at the back of the boat with two of the other boys with their heads down playing DS games. Everything truely back to normal, and hes a boy again, without the thoughts of love in his head! The one disappointment was that we didn't get to see the statue of liberty as was advertised to us. Having just gone to New York, would have been nice to claim having seen the double on the one trip... an excuse to go again maybe?

The tower climb was to say, very frustrating. They advertise that they save you so much time because they pre-book the ticket and you can just skip the lines blah blah blah. We rock up and find this massive line to join????? What about pre-booking? It took us just over an hour in the most freezing of weather (it was snowing slightly as well, just a faint touch, which was cute) before we got on the lift up. That gave us about 15 minutes to look around the top before we had to get to the bus and yep, there was a line to get down the lift as well! It didn't help I was busting for a loo, and apparently so was the rest of any person who finally made it up the tower :S We made it up the top right on sunset, which was a nice touch though. However I was totally freaked out. It was so high off the ground and the way the lift goes up at an angle didn't sit well with me. It being cold on the ground made it freezing up on the second level. Took some snaps of the sunset and joined the line to go straight back down.

it was only when we got back to the bus seeing it drive off (yes I caught down that bus and made them take us on board) that we found out that our time on the top had been extended. One of the group sms'd our tour guide complaining about the line and lack of time, so most of the group knew the different arrangements and had the chance then to wait another 45mins and pay 8 euro to go to the very top!

Our bus went to collect the people that didn't go on the tower/boat cruise, and I was happy to sit on the warmth of the bus. Another girl on the tower section was with us. It was nice being able to see some of those busy streets at night anyway. The strange thing was however, when we got back to the tower, the schedule apparently wasn't going to change as a lady was missing from the group, but there was no waiting this time unlike the previous day til she got to the bus, and we went back to the hotel without her. I think she eventually caught a taxi back to the hotel after being disorientated getting off the tower on the wrong leg.

For tea a group of us went across the road to a Buffalo place for a last tea together. It was very american however the service was somewhat funny. If you want to order food, you have to order it Well done. The french I'm guessing have a thing for raw meat and one of the girls meals wasn't exactly cooked. I went for the safe option and ordered a hamburger instead of steak! They do have some pretty cool non alcoholic cocktails on offer, which delighted my son.

Overall it was a lovely day, and in a way a sad one, as the tour was shortly to end the following day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1902s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb