Bienvenue a la Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
April 30th 2010
Published: April 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Paris late Wednesday night after a 9 hour bus ride from London. Our first experience was getting on the metro (train) and it stopping after a few minutes because there was a "suspicious package" at the next stop that they needed to confirm was not a bomb! Luckily it wasn't and service resumed about 30 minutes later.

Thursday I hiked to the Basilica, and when I say hike, I mean it! I didn't realize how many stairs I was going to have to go up but it was worth it. The view is amazing and the Basilica is beautiful as well. From there, I decided to visit the Montmartre, home of the Moulin Rouge. It was very cool to see and I got some pictures.

After lunch, Nate and I met back up and went to the Louvre. We spent about 3.5 hours there and I'm pretty sure if you wanted to really look at everything it would take close to a month. The place is huge! But I did get to see the Mona Lisa which was neat to see in person. Since we were in the area, we decided to visit Notre Dame and climbed to the top. Again, a great view of the city but I was pretty sure my legs were going to collapse after that climb!

Last night we met up with a friend of Nick Patterson's, Paul. He works at a small bar/restaurant and was very friendly and poured us plenty of wine while we were there.

After a late start today, I went to the Pantheon and down into the crypts in the Pantheon. Some of the crypts were open for visitors to walk into. It's a very eery feeling because it's so quiet and pretty dark. From there I headed to L'Arc de Triomphe. This is the best thing I have seen in Paris so far! It's a beautiful structure and after another long climb up a spiral staircase, you reach the top where the view is breathtaking! There's a great view of the Eiffel tower and the entire city of Paris.

Since I don't think it's physically possible for me to walk any further today, I am calling it a night and getting a good night of sleep. I realized today that it's very difficult for me to speak in my broken french when I am tired and although most people speak a little English, it is easier and more respectful to at least make an attempt at speaking French.

Bon Nuit Mes Amis!



Advertisement



4th May 2010

We actually travelled by ferry from London to Paris, although I heard the tunnel was pretty neat. I am having a great time and thanks for your comments!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb