THE GREATEST ADVENT CALENDAR EVER


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Nord-Pas de Calais » Lille
December 10th 2007
Published: December 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Maman sent me an Advent calendar at my request. I have one every year, and have for as long as I can remember. It’s always something that I look forward to and helps me pace out the month before Christmas. Usually behind each little door is something like a quote or fact about Christmas, or a picture of something vaguely or cheesily Christmasy. When I received my Advent calendar this year, it was a 3D gingerbread house that I had to put together myself. I finally figured it out and sat the little guy on my shelf, waiting impatiently for the first of December (sorry this is out of order; haven’t had much time to write lately).
Finally, the first of December came. I should mention that I was sick as a dog when it arrived and in terrible spirits as a result of that. It was all I could do to convince myself to get out of bed and go across the room to find the little window with the number one on it and open it. Finally, I got up the motivation and stumbled across the room to the little gingerbread house. One, one, one… I can never seem to find the damn number I’m looking for. And then, there it was. There’s always a sense of excitement when you finally find the number you’re looking for and get to open it, wondering what could possibly be behind that little door. It’s almost always something pretty stupid, but you still look forward to it on some level, though not as much this time since I was so sick, and being excited requires energy.
So I popped open the first window and… immediately burst into tears. Behind the little door was my favorite picture of my grandparents, carefully shrunk and cut to fit perfectly in the little window. It was just so unexpected and such a relief to see something so familiar and that was so much like… home. Since then, it’s been a different picture every day, but all pictures that I know and love. Me as a child, my Aunt Katy, other family members, the dog, places I love, drawings in our Kent house, etc. The. Best. Present. Ever. Every day I get to look forward to another surprise of something that will undoubtedly bring a little joy to my day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb