Bonjour!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Nord-Pas de Calais » Calais
April 1st 2013
Published: April 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

With tanks full, everything battened down and Georgie rearing to go we hit Dover port.



Woolly says – it was rather boring, I had been so excited about the ferry and I could see it but we had to sit and wait in Georgie before we were waved on-board. Finally parking Georgie in her berth and making sure she was all snug and warm we went up the stairs to the passenger decks – I sound like I’ve been sailing for years already! – The sea looked very choppy and I wondered if I needed to take my sea sickness bracelets (courtesy of Zoe), but Jo told me to wait until we were in the channel and sea what it was like then (took me ages to get THAT joke!). Dead on 11.30am we left the UK…..HOORAY!! We decided to go for a walk round the ship and find our sea legs, it was pretty boring, Duty free was much more expensive than on our flights to and from Turkey, and since we had eaten before leaving the site I had a quick gallop round the two decks where we were allowed before Jo and Ian made me sit down. An hour and a half later I spotted France for the first time!!!!!! Then I saw the signs with Calais, we had ARRIVED and I hadn’t felt sick at all.



It was an easy crossing and once Woolly had settled down the time passed quite quickly, the worst was to come….



Woolly says – it was pretty easy getting off the boat and we set a course for the A16 towards Dunkirk, I knew we only had 18km to go to the site for the night and was looking forward to seeing lots of French things, I saw loads of different houses and some French cows before we all started to realise that although the sun was shining brightly, the wind was nearly tipping us over. Poor Georgie and Ian! Being on the wrong side of the road wasn’t a problem but they were fighting to stay upright, I got quite scared and cuddled up to Jo. After what seemed hours we spotted the signs for Grand Fort Philippe and turned off the main drag and onto a slightly less windy road. We made it, I think we were all glad to arrive but none more than Georgie and Ian, while Jo tried to communicate in reception we took a look round and my bestest friend Sion will be glad to know that there are proper toilets and not holes in the ground!! Having settled Georgie into her resting spot for the night we took a walk towards the Town Centre. With the wind blowing Jo everywhere and the sail boarders having a breeze (or howling wind depending on how you look at it) we were blown back to Georgie ready to make plans for tomorrow, Au revoir for now mes amies.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb