Grad school apps


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Toulouse
November 29th 2010
Published: November 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Travel Blog – France 4

Okay blog time. What time is that? Oh it’s the time I should be working on my personal statement but I can’t think of how to improve it so I need to do something while I mull it over aka I have banished myself to my room until I finish it so I need something to procrastinate with. Just in case you don’t know I am trying to apply to graduate school for next year. I want to get a PhD in developmental psychology and work with kids with ADHD. But hello what I am doing I came here to escape from writing about that. If you interested I will give you my personal statement- crappy though it may be at the moment but will hopefully be excellent by the end of today.
So what do you want to know? No I did not die in the strike riots. But I did learn what happens when you eat too much bread in one day- same thing that happens when you eat too much of anything else – you have a stomach ache. Very insightful? Read between the lines I am sure there is meaning there. Yeah I am in a strange mood being stuck in this little room. I have already cleaned the bathroom today, which obviously has never been cleaned by a Polish person before. Yes I had wiped down the shower, toilet, and sink when I first moved in but this time I did a major clean using the Camille George on your hands and knees method (though I am sure she could still find spots I may have missed).
Thinking about that makes me think that I will home in about a week. I am very excited! Its strange I don’t feel like I have been gone for 2 months (exactly as of today. Ha. That was cool.) well at least not in the same way I felt when I was gone for 2 months when I was in Honduras. I know what you are thinking: I KNOW FRANCE IS DIFFERENT FROM HONDURAS WE GET IT! Yeah I can’t help it, I knew they would be different but I still am surprised at how different, especially in the way that I feel.

UPDATE 1 week later:
Personal statement did get done (thanks Callyson for your help!) and I finished the applications for 5 schools. I may do another one but at this point the places I am applying to grad school are: University of Vermont, University of Virginia, University of California-Irvine, University of Minnesota, and Marquette University. If you have any suggestions for other places where people are studying ADHD, peer interactions, and/or child development let me know and I will check it out.
ALSO I am in the Amsterdam airport now for 5 hours (how do you think I was able to write so much I have nothing else to do 😉 I’ll be in the States shortly and I can’t wait to see my family and friends. It will be short but totally worth it. Btw it’s almost Thanksgiving so just wanted to say thank you to all of you! You guys are the best and make my life wonderful. Happy Thanksgiving!

UPDATE 2 weeks later:
After a meeting with the elders (yes they literally called themselves that at the fam reunion) I have decided I may need to expand my apps (sigh not done yet) so give me your suggestions. And being home for a week was totally worth it 😊 Loved every minute of it.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.553s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.3607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb