A COUPLE OF DAYS REST...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Najac
October 25th 2012
Published: October 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Tarte RecletteTarte RecletteTarte Reclette

My lunch from the tea rooms in Toulouse.
TUESDAY, OCTOBER 23, 2012 THROUGH THURSDAY, OCTOBER 25, 2012 - I will make this section short...we spent a couple of lovely days in Najac, in the lower Dordogne, near Cahors. There were two highlights for me:

1. I discovered that the childhood home of Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec was in the area and still owned by a family member. Tours were available daily so off we went to the Chateau du Bosc. The tour was given by Madame Nicole, a second cousin of Lautrec, who lives at the chateau. It was one of the few times in my travels in France that I have been sorry not to speak the language as I would have loved to talk to her about the family and history. We have seen many chateaux on this trip, but none so special as this one as it had all the family furniture and other items that frequently showed up in his paintings.

2. Our dinner last night was delightful. I limited myself to a main course and dessert a la carte, while Kevin went for a 4-course meal. I had a lovely veal steak, with wonderful pureed vegetables and potatoes and "Tout Chocolat" for dessert,
Raspberry tarteRaspberry tarteRaspberry tarte

From our lunch at the tea rooms in Toulouse, also.
while Kevin had a salad, Boar Stew and an Armagnac Tarte with Armagnac ice cream. The highlight of the meal was having a taste of Roquefort ice cream served with our hostess's green salad. Not too sharp - very refreshing and a lovely accompaniment. N I have already thought of various foods to serve it with…

Since we were up early to meet our friend at the airport in Limoges we went off to bed with full tummies, and bad coughs...I hope nothing is coming on…


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Almost Dahlias of DeathAlmost Dahlias of Death
Almost Dahlias of Death

Found these on one of our Tiki-tours in the region. I love Dahlias - the bigger, the bettter!
Chateau du BoscChateau du Bosc
Chateau du Bosc

The childhood home of Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec.
Napkin Folding 101Napkin Folding 101
Napkin Folding 101

I loved this, and will have to try this at home...
Kevin's Boar StewKevin's Boar Stew
Kevin's Boar Stew

He said it was thoroughly enjoyable. Thought of Harrison with this one.
Armagnac Tarte with  Matching Ice creamArmagnac Tarte with  Matching Ice cream
Armagnac Tarte with Matching Ice cream

I have never seen Kevin leave any dessert, but he met his match with this one...
Tout Chocolat dessertTout Chocolat dessert
Tout Chocolat dessert

Ice cream, mousse, cake, fondant, and a cookie. YUM!


30th October 2012

OMG! The Tout Chocolat .... please bring it on! I'm not surprised Kevin left his pudding after that boar stew, I'm full just thinking about it
30th October 2012

Food glorious food
Every time I read your blog I can just visualise the yummy food - sounds like an amazing time

Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb