french = strike!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Millau
October 7th 2010
Published: October 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Bonjour!
So yesterday the day in toulouse was a complete waste of my time, just a day long lecture about crap I already knew! I didnt return to the hut until 10.30pm so it was a seriously long day for nothing!
Anyway I woke up this morning at 7.30 and as I started getting ready there was so much noise I wondered what was goign on, veronique the woman staying with us he lives at the school told us the students were striking today, but I didnt catch the reason why. I had a lesson at 9.30 so I made my way to the lycee there were no teachers in the staff room and only about 3 students in sight I went up to the room I was meant o tbe in but there was no sign of anyone. I asked a guy at the 'vie scolaire' and he said that today was a complete mess and he didnt have a clue were the teacher I was meant to be working with was. So I decided to head into town. That is when I had probably the most daunting experience of my life, the little gate I normally go out of was chained up and barricaded and there were loads of students chanting and shouting in the car park, so I made my way to the main gate that was full of students and some teachers all shouting, I absolutley papped my pants I made my way through the crowd and headed into town unharmed!
it wasnt until I was into that I realised there was a huge demonstration in the middle of town there were poilce everywhere and outside the town hall were most of my students all chanting, I've never seen a demonstration like that before, but I still dont know what the strike was about maybe they just didnt want to go to school today. It was all happening in Millau, so I decided to avoid the corwds and go buy a french phone, finally.
I got the crappiest phone in the shop, probably the first mobile invented but it was only 29 euros with 5 euros credit so that will do me. I then went to meet courtney at her school.

Update with the apartment.
After signing for the apartment on tuesday we have found out it is ours and we can move in on monday providing we have insurance, so courtney went to the bank for it this morning and it will cost us around 50 euro for the whole year which is better then we expected. Also the agency has let us pay the 1000 euro deposit in 3 monthly installments off 166 euros each per month. Also as we are moving in half way throught the month we only have to pay 345 for the rent instead of 535 which is better still. So it has worked out perfectly. We also found out the flat has an inactive telephone and internet line and we just need to reactivate it. We went to SFR today to get a plan etc and we have internet a phone and a digi box for the tv for 30 euros a month. The landline phone means I can call english landlines for free 😊 so thats great!! So its all coming together now and we can have the internet installed at the lastest wednesday! So this time next week we will have a new home with internet aand everything! So happy now!!!!

Thats all for now folks, I am meant to have a lesson at 4.30 this afternoon but Im pretty sure that will be cancelled too!
Will write again soon x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb