packing, travelling, and arriving


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lower Normandy » Cherbourg
May 22nd 2007
Published: May 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Jerome's HouseJerome's HouseJerome's House

HOw French...
Well as most of you know I have a problem with clothing, as in I have too much, so packing was rather difficult. Finally, after many purges, I managed to pack two overly stuffed bags and one carry on. I still don't think I packed enough, but Jerome thinks it's too much and perhaps he is right...he was nice enough to help carry it with me. So I left at 1:30pm from the Nashville airport and flew to Chicago where I had a two hour lay over. Then I boarded the plane to La France!
The flight was awful because I developed bronchitis somewhere between Nashville and Chicago so I suffered the whole flight and could barely breathe. Luckily some good samaritans offered me some various medications to aid in my tribulation. So I arrived in Charles de Gaulle airport and it was a madhouse. People were everywhere speaking a variety of foreign languages and nothing seemed to be very well organized and the signs weren't very hjelpful either as they never actually led to where they said they would. Somehow I managed to find the baggage claim where the luggage from my flight as well as three others were all cramed. So I heaved ,y bags off with much effort mind you because at this point I was really sick, fever and everything. So I got my luggage and followed a mass of people into a doorway where I found Jerome waiting for me; Apparently there was no official customs or perhaps I ,issed it because I pulled out my passport only once before I got my luggage and a guy half heartedly glanced at it and then sent me ont o the baggage claim...so much for French homeland security.
So Jerome, concerned with the fact that I could barely talk as I had lost my voice and that I was wheezing, quickly found the shuttle we were to take into Paris. So we arrived at La Gare de Montparnasse (a train station) where we took a subway to La Gare de Saint Lazarre (another train station). I got stuck in the closing doors with my luggage which was also very graceful. Then Jerome's father met us at La Gare de Saint Lazarre and he bought us tickets to Cherbourg where Jerome's home is. So we waited for the train and had a little coffee and then we took the train, for three hours, to Cherbourg. Jeome's mother picked us up at the station and Jerome had to take a taxi with some of the luggage because it wouldn't all fit in the car, the cars are compact in France as you will see in the photos (hehehe). Both of Jerome's parents are doctrs so his mother took me to the pharmacy where she wrote a perscription for sme antibiotics and she took good care of me and it is only the day after and I already feel much better.
I met his sister's and youngest brother later that evening and we all had dinner and then I went to bed and slept like a baby, they have given me Jerome's room which I am sure Jerome loves since he hasn't slept in his bed in a year and now I have taken it hehe. Anyways, I put some photos of Jerome's house. The house is three stories...three bedrooms are upstairs, then the main level with the kitchen sitting room dining room and living room, and then one more bedroom and a bonus room/guest room down staris. It is very cute and French. I will keep
Jerome's back yardJerome's back yardJerome's back yard

the view from behind his house...the little town of Equeurdreville
you all updated on everything and his mother says hello to all of my friends and family. I love you all, hugs and kisses.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Jerome's back yard 2Jerome's back yard 2
Jerome's back yard 2

also from behind the house
Jerome's back yardJerome's back yard
Jerome's back yard

If you look closely you can see the sea in the background, I believe it is the english channel actually
Me behind Jerome's houseMe behind Jerome's house
Me behind Jerome's house

Hello from France!
little carslittle cars
little cars

...in france the cars are very compact, hence the reason why all the luggage as well as the people wouldn't fit in the car hehehe
Jerome's kitchen 2Jerome's kitchen 2
Jerome's kitchen 2

Look how little the fridge is...apparently that is the norm
Jerome's living roomJerome's living room
Jerome's living room

the salon, in french.


22nd May 2007

the pictures
I love all the pics. Did I see an electric can opener in the kitchen picture? hehe Keep up the blogging and photos so I can survive without ya! Love, Mom
23rd May 2007

I love you !
I am so glad you like my house and my town... See you tomorrow, bye bye.
24th May 2007

Vive la France!
Jess, I love your blog...keep blogging so we can travel with you vicariously and know what you're doing! Jerome, I didn't know you live in Cherbourg...as in "The Umbrellas of Cherbourg"? Very cool. Your neighborhood is very pretty with all the lush greenery and hills. Well I better go for now....J'taime et bonsoir. Vicky
24th May 2007

creme brulee
croissant, quiche, More blogging from France please. oui oui I love you.
24th May 2007

Thoughtful insightful humorous comments
Well, looks like everything is compact there! Why no pictures of the family? I want to see Jerome's family. I could definately fit two of those cars in my garage without ever moving a box! I want one. The views are pretty and I want a bite of that bagette(sp) on the kitchen table. I expect to see more more more. I love you. Adios... wait... Auvroar madememaselle (how we say it in the South). YFA
25th May 2007

:)
Hey girl! I am so glad you made it there safe! (but sorry for the rough strip!). I will be praying for your comfort and strength everyday as you are doing all of these AMAZING things in Europe!! What a blessing!! I love you and can't wait to see more pictures!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb