Back to School


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lorraine » Metz
March 3rd 2008
Published: March 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

Pierre looking like a polar bear.
I just finished up the first day back to school after 15 days of vacation! I was in the Alps for my first week, and the second was spent in the Vosges mountains. In the Alps I was with the Gelmetti family, and there we were stationed at the Grizzly Hotel in Les Deux Alps. Every morning we would take "les oeufs" up to the top of the mountain, and from there we would choose our paths down. I was with my first host family, the Gelmetti's, for this first week.

For the second week I was with my host family now, the Galvez's. We left for the Vosges last Friday, and arrived back in Rombas last night after a 2hr. car drive. It was a lot worse going up to the Alps because that took an 8hr. ride! We stayed in a town called La Bresse, and there I visited a Musee de Racines (a tree root museum), and a chevrerie (where they raise goats and make cheese). Unfortunately, 70% of the time spent in La Bresse it was raining, but it didn't stop us from going out walking in the mountains and getting lost in town! We had
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Pierre and I taking a break after coming down from the glacier.
some serious poker competitions after dinner, and ping pong ones in the afternoon (until we lost the ping pong paddles!) I also walked an hour and a half around Lac Gerard-Mer after eating a huge lunch in one of the Galvez's preferred restaurants. I had a French hot dog; it was literally 80% baguette and 20% dog! Not to mention the chef's chocolate mousse, which was delicious, but was served in the form of poops. 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

DANGER: CLIFF
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

Pierre, Louis, and their cousin Amelie
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

Therese and the pistes we went down often.
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

Pierre and I on the break for lunch.
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

Caroline, Pierre, Louis, Me, Raphael, and Therese
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

Louis, Elisa, and Pierre. All of the siblings in a photo that captures them well!
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Francis on the chair lift.
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

Going up to the glacier!


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb