A Real Ride in the Eastern Pyrénées


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Perpignan
March 3rd 2016
Published: June 7th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I recently had the most amazing experience at the Eastern Pyrénées Ride near the village Opoul Perillos. It was the most refreshing trip I have ever had, I surely will never forget any single moment spent up on that trail. I was lucky enough to get the booking early summer, in June so the temperatures were really cool and allowed for long ridding hours on the trail.

Also, since it was summer I managed to squeeze in some swimming in between the ridding sessions. One advantage I had was that someone told me to prepare myself for a real difficult time as the Eastern Pyrénées Ride terrain is a bit challenging. So I prepared in advance by doing some intense physicals and cardio in the gym. I arrived at the Catalonia airport late Thursday afternoon and as arranged during the booking, there was a guide already waiting to pick me up and drive me to the country side near Opoul Perillos.

The guide provided was quiet a friendly person, we got along very well. He filled me in on what to expect and answered most of my questions. I arrived at the lodge late evening and found my room with a spectacular view already prepared. I quickly took a bath to ease the travel tension, then had a light meal before going to bed.

We had a beautiful traditional food that was prepared for all guests so I got to meet other guests and made a few friends, some of which we rode together the following morning. For diner they served us cargols a Ia launa with homemade wine, apparently this dish is usually reserved for feasts and festivities.



Saturday was the most exciting and challenging. I woke up very early and set for mountainous trails at the Eastern Pyrénées Ride near the village Opoul Perillos. It was very hot that day so I had to make lots of water breaks and sitting on the saddle was a bit painful. The guides helped me a lot when it came to negotiating the rocky trails. l spent the night up in the mountains at a campsite. I can truly say this was the best day of my trip. The atmosphere up in the mountain made me forget about the rough day I had had o the saddle and did not even at once think of the ride back down.

Sunday morning I woke up and had a two hour hike around the mountains checking out different views and taking amazing photos, then I met up with my horse on the other side and started the ride back to the lodge but via a different trail this time. It was much easier than the first so it took less time to make it to the Lodge. l needed a rest before going on one last ride late afternoon, which involved lots and lots of galloping in landscape trail nearby.

Unfortunately that was the end of my adventure as I had a flight to catch back home that night. I am looking forward to making another trip back to the Eastern Pyrénées Ride. It was an unbelievable experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb