First week of "classes"


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Montpellier
September 19th 2006
Published: September 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So far, this has been a really interesting week. Last week was a bit stressful because we were all trying to figure out schedules and each department publishes class lists and schedules sespartely, so its very unorganized. So far, many people didn't even have the classes that they signed up for because teachers weren't there. We were warned that things might not really start up until next week. There is no onine registration system here, in fact its practicall un heard of. Each department produces there own booklets of classes, sometimes with descriptions,, sometimes not. You just have to pick a lot of potential classes, go to them and then narrow things down. The only things that I am definitely taking as of now are a corrective phonetics class to improve speaking skills, and a methodologie class which helps us with writing papers. Its great because I get credit for my French Major. If everything works out all I will have left for the major are two lit classes that I am required to take at Carolina. Its works out really well. IN addition to those I will take 2 more, but I haven't figured that out yet. Yesdterday I attended my phonetics class and a sociology class> the Sociology class was really abstract and it was a third year class which is the highest level in what is equivalent to the undergrad part of the school. People have taken it in the past and done fine but I haven't decided if I will take it. Luckily everything is so flexible that I don't have to know what I am taking yet. I also went to an anthropology class which was hard to pay attention to because the professor had a strange voice adn she wasn't very interesting. I might end up taking a cinema class and a history class but I can't go to those until next week because they haven't really started yet. Sounds strange but everything is so different here. Im not too stressed though. I think I will have Thursdays and Fridays off which will be great for when I want to travel. I am planning on getting a card for 12 - 25 year olds that gives huge discounts on train tickets within France. This past weekend was really nice. We had our final exam for the orientation program and then I walked around the city and had lots fo time to explore. We went out dancing on Saturday night to a discotheque. Its different than a bar because it doesn't open until midnight and stays opne until about 5 am I think. We didn't stya out the whole night. The next day we went to this very picturesque town called Saint Guillem Le Desert. After visiting the town we went to this river with a pebble beach and lounged aorund. It was too cold for swimming this time. I can't remember if I wote about the weekend before last. We went to Avignon which was beautiful. I can't wait to visit some of these places again as well as all of the other quiant town around here. Today I am done with classes. I think once I get in my rhythm with school and everything it will be easier to get in touch with people. Our orientation was too busy. I am still enjoying my family situation. I'm glad its relaxed but its strange living in someone elses space. I am terrible at making conversation sometimes. Lets see. I have some random culture notes
1. people smoke everywhere here, which most of you probably know, but you can even do it in the mall.
2. the escaltors in the mall are on oppostie sides that in the US ( i don't go to the amll oftne, I've just noticed)
3. The French are very concerned about resources, so most shoers have a hand held shower head that can't be attached to the wall so that you don't use as much water. For instance, I turn off the water between washing and rinising my hair, etc.
4. Lights in the apartment hallway are automatic, so you push a button and then they jsut shut off to conserve energy
5. there is no AC, which I don't mind because it gets really windy here

I know there have been more I have just beed bad about recording them. Those are all things I thin are interesting though.

well I hope this is a good update.


Advertisement



24th September 2006

Thanks for the update!
Bitsy: All of your updates are good ones: fun and interesting to read! Glad things are going well and hope one of the classes you check out this week ends up being a good one for you to take. Love Mom

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb