more updates


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Montpellier
September 6th 2006
Published: September 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wellm I guess I left off with the first week of classes. Not much has changed in terms of school. Some daysa re better than others in terms of understanding all that is said, and remembering all of the grammar rules. last week was really enjoyable. I went out on the town last thurday night, Saturday morning I woke up and explored some of centre ville, the old part of the city where most of the activity takes place. I was so cool to walk around the different side streets and see everyone outside enjoying brunch and buying their fresh food. \\\saturday morning the UNC group went to our director's house for paella. \it was really relaxing, especially after a long week at school. Saturday afternoon I went shopping, but i didn't go too crazy, things are expensive here. I met my friends Genevieve and Clare for dinner and then most of our UNC group went to see SNAKES ON A PLANE....... IN french!( les Serpents Sur L'avion) haha, it was probably one of the most entertaining things. \i didn't actually understand a lot of the dialogue but the plot was simple enough that I had no problem following it. I can't wait for the day when I can go to a french movie and know exactly what is going on. Hopefully I will be able to do that in a few months. Needless to say, last Saturday was very fun. On Sunday, we had our second group excursion with the University to Nimes and le pont du Gard, an old aqueduct, There is a river that runs underneath that is a very popular swimming place, so after we heard the history and some legends we all went swimming. \it was cold and the bottom was really pebbly but it was so fun. Nimes is also a cool city. It seems quiter than Montpellier. We saw the roman style arena and watched a film about the history of nimes. All of these explanations are in French so I don't alwasy catch every historical detail. I love being able to go to these cities in our region and have transportation provided. it is very helpful, because these are places I would have wanted to go on my own. Monday was just a regular day, and last night we celebreatedout Friend Bevin's birthday. We ordered pizza at our grad student assistants aprtment and gave her some small gifts and just relaxed, ate, talked and listened to music. It was really nice. Well that is all for this update. Hopefully i can add another more detailed on soon, but as usual, we have people waiting for the coimputers. Love to all my family and friends who are reading this

Advertisement



10th September 2006

Miss Bits, it sounds like you are having a fabulous time exploring Montpellier! This blog thing is really a good idea... but I think it's too late to start one. Ha. Trust me, you start out writing a lot, but in about a week or so, you will forget. And then the fam gets angry. Whew. Good luck adjusting further to that culture. Awww, you are going to come back all cute and french. Love you.
13th September 2006

we enjoy your blog
Bitsy, Keep up the blog! Its a good way to keep a record, like a journal. We love speaking to you on the phone, too. Anything to keep in touch! Love, The Units

Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb