Montpellier


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Montpellier
June 30th 2007
Published: June 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

UF-Paris Research CenterUF-Paris Research CenterUF-Paris Research Center

Leaving hte research center for the last time in Paris...tear...
Bonjour! I arrived in Montpellier about 1:03pm today. Lugging my luggage down the stairs and then back up did a number on my thumb nail (I banged it into the back of my luggage as I was trying to prevent myself from toppling over and down the stairs). But I made it and found my way to the Taxi Stand with Katie and then we met up with some others in our group who were waiting for taxis. The Citadines Antigone is quite a step up from Hotel Lecourbe in Paris. We have a kitchen and 2 English-speaking channels!!! Also, a major plus is the free wireless internet. (By the way, The Simpsons in French is quite fabulous - I could basically tell what was going on so I was happy.) Also, there is a laundry room in the basement. It costs 4 Euro to use each machine so I paid 8 Euro to do my laundry today but it was a necessity because my dirty clothes were making my clean clothes all icky. Anyways, there is a very exciting mall behind and to the right of the Citadines. Katie and I picked up some food at the supermarket which
Gare du LyonGare du LyonGare du Lyon

Waiting for my train to arrive...it was a bullet train and went so fast!
was in the mall and we had some nosh for lunch. I am not sure what is going on tonight but I think a bunch of us are probably going out. Montpellier seems to be a college town, with lots of young people. While walking to the mall, we saw some teenagers breakdancing to the Beastie Boys. It was nice to hear some familiar music that is more current than Madonna’s Like a Virgin (which played in nearly every store in Paris). Anyways, I am going to get going and figure out what is going on tonight. I miss everyone and will talk to you all soon. Love you! Au revoir! - Jana

Advertisement



1st July 2007

interesting ...
Seriously, Madonna's Like a Virgin? How very strange! I'm glad to see you're enjoying yourself. It sounds like you're becoming quite the experienced world traveler. I wish I could join you! :-) I am back in Coral Springs and could use a lunch date. hehe
2nd July 2007

stilll sooo jealous of u....come home so we can go to sweet tomatoes and i can start my bahamas diet starvation techniques...haha cant wait to see you when u get back!! <3

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb