Paris and reflections of our trip...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
September 15th 2017
Published: September 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

The flights from Budapest (don't forget the ending is pronounced Pescht) weren't completely horrible. We headed to Zurich first....DID NOT get a stamp in my passport...sigh. Then headed to Paris. I'd been watching the weather forecast and it looked like it would be raining almost the whole time we would be here. We actually didn't care if it rained because both Tom and I were a little under the weather (pun intended) and didn't care if we just slept in our favorite city. We know the city so well it would be easy to run out to some favorite spots rain or shine.

True to the Internet, it was indeed pouring on arrival. We got into a taxi and head for the City Center. I told the driver exactly where we needed to go Rive Gauche Plaza de la Sorbonne. There is only one Plaza de la Sorbonne, and it cannot be missed. It's a big pedestrian plaza right on Saint Michael's Boulevard and the Sorbonne University is the crowning back drop. Or can it? The driver took a different route and got off the Paripherque (freeway that surrounds Paris) on Pt Clignancourt. We've never come in this way and
On the Rue to Montmartre On the Rue to Montmartre On the Rue to Montmartre

Tom has always said. I should open a dress shop in Paris.
I don't care what anyone says but when you are inching your way through the worst part of Paris and you are stopped in traffic AND the cab driver pulls out a map......well let's just say my eyes got wide and my confidence level sank. Tom and I starated talking out of the sides of our mouths "do you see anything familiar?" Asked Tom. "No nothing." I whispered. I said "pardon, it's on Blvd San Michael?" The driver just nodded. Tom and I hadn't been watching where he was going until we got to this part of town. Now we were watching all the streets and looking for something familiar. Traffic was so jambed up that Tom asked if there was a Metro strike going on and he shook his head no. We just kept vigilant and watched him check his map a few times. Finally we saw Notre Dame in the distance and knew we were close.

After and hour and a half we finally arrived to the very familiar surroundings of Plaza de la Sorbonne and the Rive Gauche Hotel. We quickly registered and went to our room to unpacked.

We were here and anxious to at least walk down to Le Depart. It was already almost 5:00 by the time we finally headed out to St Michael's square.

It was raining and my feet and shoes got soaked on the walk to Le Depart so afterwards we just headed back to Plaza de la Sorbonne and ate dinner at "Les Patio" which was right next door to our hotel.

The next day was clear but windy, we walked the few blocks to Luxembourg Park a favorite of ours. The wind was bone chilling just like a few Winter days we've spent here. I decided I'd need another long sleeve shirt.....I'll probably never wear it in Palm Springs but I was just too cold.

We made our way via Metro to Montmartre for lunch. We parked ourselves at a Cafe near the center of the square with optimum people watching potential and watched the world go by once again while slowly eating our salads. What made this perfect for me was that a heater was on overhead keeping me warm. The sun would come and go behind the clouds but I was at a constant very acceptable temperature. It started to rain and the waiter just came out and extended the awning so we wouldn't get wet and we successfully waited out the rain. (It took all afternoon but we were completely okay with that.) It eventually cleared up and stayed dry for the rest of the day. So we were able to walk to the St Germaine area for dinner.

Some reflections on this journey:

NOTE TO SELF: You live in Palm Springs. Eastern Europe and Paris ARE NOT in the desert. Packing shorts and sleeveless blouses for a 2 week vacation in Europe is not acceptable. Again Europe is NOT in the desert.

As in past September trips to Paris I did believe that the weather would still be warm. The truth is we lucked out with most of the weather while sailing but during the course of our tri it did rain a few times and was cold most of the time. When we arrived in Prague I was surprised how cold it was and already I knew I'd not packed correctly. I purchased a sweater and wore it a lot. I did manage to pack warm scarves and did remember to bring a coat, but overall I completely misjudged the weather. Lastly, the shoes! My God I only brought several pairs of my black flats and 2 pair of shoes with heels. All that walking we did would have been so much better in sneakers or walking shoes. Now in Paris it's pouring and all I have are my black flats. I decide I might have to buy a pair of something more substantial. Merde!

With all we've traveled on just this trip the notion of "Jet Setter" popped into my head. Are we? I think not. Not in the sense we've come to understand the term. I think at the very least we should own a Lear jet to be considered a "Jet Setter." Yet, I was listening to Tom who was working on this trip and was on the phone daily working on his transaction, "No no" he said "I'm not in Hungary, I was in Budapest yesterday but I'm in Paris now." Pause....."No, I was in Vienna a few days ago." And finally "Yes I'll be back home on Sunday." It made me laugh, okay we're not really "Jet Setters" but it sure made me think about it while Tom was trying to describe our agenda over the phone.

Back to Paris............

These last few precious days in Paris are being spent visiting our favorite haunts. We had dinner at La Grande Colbert last night (made famous by the movie "Somethings got to give" with Diane Keaton, Keanu Rives and Jack Nicholson, and of course by Mike Rostad enjoying the lamb and potatoes au gratin) We also went to the bridge where years before we attached our forever love lock. The locks are all gone, and the new guard rails do not provide room for any more locks. (Photo here)

Tonight on our last night we will go have a glass of wine and the Prince de Gaulle Hotel. This is the hotel Tom and I stayed on our first trip to Paris so many years ago. We still keep up the tradition of having a glass of wine there whenever we are in town. After this we head over to Chez Andre another tradition from our first trip. Chez Andre holds many memories for us. We've brought dear friends here and I've brought my two daughters here. One time when Tom was here by himself to attend the French Open they sat him right next to Rafa Nadal who was celebrating his birthday. The staff here has no idea who we are or how much it means to use to be here. They just sit us in what I call the American/English section (I say that because in years past we've talked to people around us and they are usually from US or UK) but each time we are there we reminisce about our history with the restaurant, the people we've met and how nice it is to be here again.

Tomorrow we begin the long journey home and I can't wait to start planning our next adventure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

BridgeBridge
Bridge

The railings used to be filled with locks including ours. It's a new railing covered in plexiglass.


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb