Paris With Love


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
June 17th 2013
Published: June 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Boxing Day 2012 was a long day of travel; 6 hours on a coach back to London from Wales and then three hours to the airport due to TFL worker strikes. However, when my flight landed and I exited the underground station onto Boulevard de Clichy, I saw the bright shining lights of the Moulin Rouge and all traces of tiredness left my body. Excitement and adrenalin kicked in with the realisation that I had finally made it to Paris. Paris! There I was in the city of love.

As a child, I always dreamed of visiting the iconic city. If fairytales could come true where better to make it happen. As I explored I watched couples stealing a kiss under the Eiffel tower while single beauties set out in hope to find their prince (no more beasts allowed). And, even if they were unsuccessful in their search for romance, still they were contented because they fell in love with the city itself.

I wanted more than anything for this to be the case for me: Paris, I wanted to develop the same feelings of adoration towards you as your many other lovers had. For the next couple of days I put all my efforts into my trying to persuade myself to love you: I saw the side of you that you portray to the world, Paris - your iconic features and your good taste in food. I even tried to liken myself to you by fashioning my beret all day. Now that’s devotional!

However, it seemed that despite my efforts Paris and I would be having nothing more than a weekend affair. It’s not to say I didn’t like the city – indeed, I found it incredibly attractive, cultural and charismatic – but I just couldn’t bring myself to love it. Maybe I was just trying too hard or my expectations were too high? But it seemed Paris wasn't bothered: To this city I was a mere tourism statistic; another common English speaking tourist that could easily be ignored.

I guess it proves that – as cheesy as it may sound – beauty is nothing if personality isn’t everything. It was unfortunate that Paris’ and my personality did not click. One day I might return to the city of love and give it another go but for now, lets see where else in the world I might capture my heart. Next stop Hamburg. Bring on the pretzels! Now there’s something I definitely love.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb