Bonjour from Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
October 15th 2012
Published: October 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

A quick hello from Paris, using a keyboard with all the letters in a different spot so if my typing is all over the place that's why!

I've been here 4 days now, and the weather has been a bit hit and miss. Freeeeezing cold yesterday and puring rain all day and today was pretty good only rained for a little bit but the sun was out mostly and didn't I regret not taking my sunglasses, it was like one of those dreams where you can't open your eyes!

I arrived very late Thursday night and caught a taxi to Melissa and James place. The main road into Paris was blocked off and so the trip was back to back traffic in the rain and it took so long i won't even tell you how much the trip cost! But I finally got there to thier lovely 3 level, 4 bed, 5 bathroom apartment overlooking the Eiffel tower. I'm pretty sure you would never get sick of the sight as you have breakfast over looking that view! they are very lucky as am I to be staying there.

Melissa's parents are also here and her brother arrives tonight so it's a full house but it has been really nice. They invited me to tag along to the countryside Saturday and we went to Giverny to see Monet's house and garden and while it was raining and cold it was still lovely! We then travelled to a beautiful resturant Le Moulin de Fourges where we had 3 courses plus cheese and i tried fois gras which was ok but not sure i'd have it again! We rolled out of there and took so,e photos as the spot was really lovely and then headed back into Paris as it was quite late by then. Thinking we couldn't possibly eat anymore some meat, cheese, canteloupe and warm bread was put out and every last bit was eaten! Last time I was here I thought I was going to turn into a baguette and nothing has changed but it's just so tasty you cant help it!

Yesterdaywe got up and went to the local market and while it was freezing it was so good to see fresh fruit and veg and meat, cheese, flowers you name it it was there and amazing quality and variety and alot cheaper than back home! I was cooking dinner last night so got a free range chook from Normandy which still had it's head and feet and everything attached but thank goodness she cut that all off for me! It's just coming into phesant season so there were a few still intact ones hanging around...not my cup of tea! The colour of the tomatoes and pumpkin is unreal and it makes you realise how ripped off back home we are!

Melissa's mum and dad looked after Lilly in the afternoon and we went to lunch and then the Pantheon and walked around the Latin quarter. It was a bit too cold? wet and miserable though so we went home and I cooked up a roast and then raspberry and chocolate brownies with fresh raspberry sauce..yum!

Well gotta run but will do one final blog before I leave on Thursday night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb