Paris--Part Deux


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
August 27th 2011
Published: August 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Bonjour!

So now that I have a little bit of time, I'll fill you in on my final day in Paris. I had my first real "cafe au lait" at breakfast and it was yummy. Coffee is more concentrated here, so one cup was enough, and delicious. Then a smaller group of us went off to visit Montmatre and Sacre Coeur. We took the metro which I was starting to get a feel for and then we walked to Montmatre and then we walked UP Montmatre to visit Sacre Coeur, which is the Church of the Sacred Heart. It was beautiful. We walked through the church while a mass was being held and hearing mass in French was breathtaking. There were so many amazing stain glass windows with French words on them. At that moment I really wanted my mom to be with me so I could show her this wondrous church and explain what all the windows said. She was with me in heart and I'll just have to take her there someday. At the top of Montmatre there was a lovely view of Paris, so we sat up there and just rested for a bit.

We then walked through Pigalle to Moulin Rouge. We passed by some interesting shops and of course took pictures of Moulin Rouge. Then we walked to Galleries Lafayette which is where all the fancy and expensive stores are. However, we were too cool for that so Yoann and I went to the top of the building to the terrace to see a 360 degree from of Paris which was extraordinary!

Then the whole group got together and went on a tour of the Paris Opera house. The Opera house was gorgeous and enormous, but once again, we were all pretty tired. Plus our guide was Juan who is from a region where they speak both French and Spanish and he spoke very quickly and with a slightly Spanish accent. However, the whole place was mesmerizing so we all enjoyed it. Then a small group of us went to take the metro home and the closest one was at the Louvre. I wanted to hang out there for a bit, so they all went to the hostel and I walked outside the Louvre for a bit to take pictures and whatnot. It was a little surreal, but amazing. Then I took the metro home all by myself! It was easy and I was starting to get used to Paris, so it wasn't really that big of a deal, but I was pretty proud of myself 😊

Then we went as a group on a boat tour of Paris on the Seine. We took a Bateau Mouche and were lucky enough to sit on the top so we had a clear view. We saw a lot of intricate bridges, the Eiffel Tower again, and a whole lot of other stuff. The one thing I didn't see while I was in Paris was L'Arc de Triomphe and Champs Elysees, but I'm only two hours from Paris by train, so c'est pas grande chose. After the boat tour we went back to the Latin Quarter for food. Alyssa and I bought some crepes and french fries to eat on the go. We walked back to the hostel and hung out for a bit because we had to get up early the next day.

We got up early the next morning and packed everything up. I had a quick breakfast and talked to the nice woman who was serving us breakfast which she seemed to appreciate. Then we hopped on a nice bus (this one had curtains too) and said our goodbyes to Paris.

It was only three days, but they were very full, very long days and though the time passed quickly, I did a lot, saw a lot and made a lot of new friends. We also have lovely weather the whole time, so I must say that my first time in Paris and France was absolutely marvelous. I'll try to get pictures up as soon as I can.

Advertisement



27th August 2011

so cool
Meg, I LOVE reading about your adventures! Sounds like you are having a blast. Remember to be safe!we are praying for you! Love from the Barnes family

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb