First day on our own


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
February 3rd 2009
Published: March 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We definitely learned some lessons today. I slept in until 9ish and then decided it was time to get up and moving. Gotta fight that jet lag! Ashley, Alysha and I, plus Jillian and Keisha (the Arkansas girls) went to the train station, which is maybe a mile away, and worked on getting our train passes. We took the RER to Cergy-Prefecture to look up up the times for our French exam tomorrow. It’s only one stop down the line, but I’m still proud that we managed. Finding the posted exam times was a big hassle including lots of stairs and asking a few people for directions. Eventually we found them.

Then we went to the mall again, which is practically on campus. Keisha and Jillian got phones at fnac. I bought a French SIM card for my phone. It was at once gratifying and frustrating to work with the salesmen in French. One of them was very helpful and knew a little English, which was good. I explained things in French and he responded in English. I was there to help the girls because (I don’t know if I said this before) none of the Arkansas kids speak French! Can you imagine? I think it would be almost impossible. (Side note: I’ve noticed that the French say things are “impossible” or “would not be possible” a lot. I can’t tell if it’s because they don’t know an English word for what they want to say or because they really feel that way.) Anyway, we got a few more groceries at Auchan and took the train back to Cergy-St Christophe. I got a delicious ham sandwich and the three of us basically sat around bored for like 5 hours.

Oh, also yesterday I plugged in my power strip and tripped a breaker or something which caused all our outlets to stop functioning. Oops. So today we tried Ashley’s room. There were huge blue sparks and the whole room went dark. Oops again. Hopefully the landlady can have it fixed tomorrow. Until then we’re using Jillian’s outlets to charge our phones. We decided to go to Paris (!) this weekend to see Kellie. Awesome.


Advertisement



17th March 2009

I have to say the power going out/air mattress story is still my favorite!
28th April 2009

im creeping on your blog as per usual. i had no idea the arkansas kids didn't speak french before this!!!! i agree, crazy.

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb