Last Day...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 5th 2008
Published: September 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 48.8566, 2.35097

Well, we've been so busy that I haven't been able to get to a computer for 4 days! I'm going through withdrawals! my Echo pals know what I mean 😊.
I'll have to catch up on our itinerary when I get home as we are leaving tomorrow, we went to Normandy yesterday and I know I have a whole new appreciation for what our Greatest Generation did for us in WW2, amazing!!! definitely had some tears at Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery. I came away thinking that every American should make that visit. Freedom was definitely not free....
Today we walked the Marais, it's the Jewish and "gay" quarter. Had a falafel at the famous L'as du Fallafel, then on to the Il de St. Louis for gelato at Amorinos, yummy!! Visited Victor Hugo's home and the French history museum the Carnavalet. Saw Marie Antoinette's recreated prison from du Temple, hair samples from the royal family, etc.. will continue when I can let you know what all we did. Right now we are going to try to find a store and make our way back to the apt. since we leave in the morning. Thanks so much to all that posted!!! It is so nice to hear from you!! 😊

Will tell all soon, am making a list of observations of what we've seen here that is different for us. Jim asked if I liked this better than Italy, all I can say is that Italy is magical and I don't know what can compare.... France is great too in its own way. I've loved the history, my history kids will appreciate that I saw the tomb of Clovis, Dagobert, etc... I was in awe, this was in St. Denis. Check it out on the internet kiddos 😊, and let me know what you think. I may even give extra credit for you next year 😊 !!

Talk to you all later!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb