J'adore Paris!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
August 2nd 2006
Published: August 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Okay so it is day 4 in Paris and I am attempting to type on a crazy keyboard to write this blog. So far it has been a crazy few days. It started off with a close call forgetting ,my video camera at home (dont worry Rob it wasnt all your faul hehe). It was pretty difficult to travel on my own all the way from Gatwick airport to Paris station where I met up with Angela (because my bag was super awkward) but I made it safe and sound. Angela met me at the train station and guided me to our hotel in a what we have now named Paris Harlem. Our hotel is small but it is fairly nice as far as hotel standards go especially since we are getting it for 16 canadian a night haha.

Our first day in Paris brought rain but obviously not until we were geared for sun and out in the center of Paris. First thing in the morning we went to a sunday market on the edge of town and got a few gifts. We attempted to go to the Catacombs but the lines were too long so we headed to Notre Dame where it really started to rain and after checking things out inside we climbed the 422 steps to reach the top and look out on all of Paris. It was a beautiful view from which you could see the Eiffle Tower. Even though I have seen the Eiffel Tower everytime I see it (Angela as well) we get so excited.... especially when it sparkles at night. I am sure the Parisians are sick of the sight of it but I LOVE IT. Up at the top of Notre Dame the Gargoyles are really crazy. (Angela says: They sick me out).The rest of the day included a lot of walking and exploring . They have set up a "beach" along the Seine river which just includes a lot of sand and random things like that: They also set up a floating pool somewhere but I have yet to see it. It is all very touristy but still interesting. In trying to get some information from a locale on some good things to do at night, we met this information booth guy ( Angela says his dark brown hair and dark eyes got her hooked) so we met him at the end of his shift to show us where to hang out but we figured out soon after he left to go home that he really didnt know much; especially since he told us it would rain the next day but it was soooo hot. We spent the evening in St. Michel just eating crepes and watching the random people. It was happy hour and things were lively; especially the different shop owners trying to draw you into their shops.

Day 2 started at Sacre Coeur which is a beautiful church on a hill. Again it is a beautiful spot to get a view of Paris. After walking down the red light district we went to take a look at hte Moulin Rouge which is something that I hadnt seen yet. We picked up some pinic foods and spilt up (Darlene and Amanda went to check their Provincial marks.... and to be honest I think everyone needed a break from eachother) and Ange and I headed to the Eiffel Tower to have our Pinic. This has so far been my favourite part of the trip. Eating under the Eiffel Tower and just relaxing. The day got better as Ange and I went to LArc de Triumphe, shopping (with no intentions to buy anything) on the Champs Elysee and continued our walk down to the Concorde and to this random Fair we found near the Louvre. It was a lot of walking but I was so excited to be in Paris. My stupid feet are not really happy with me right now and have been causing me a lot of pain but I have gotten by. I almost forgot that we found all these fancy people and army men blocking exits so we obviously had to check things out.... it was definitely something excited going on and looking like the tourist ae did there were no invites coming our way. We decided they couldnt be too special because half of them were dressed terribly and who in Paris that was in Paris would dress like that. We met back up with the girls to go on a cruise on the Seine, it was pretty a,azing especially since it was dark and Paris was lite up.

Day 3 was Angelas 21 birthday and as her choice we headed down to Disneyland Paris. I had never been to Disneyland so in my mind it was this extrememly exciting place but Iwas a little disapointed. DOnt get me wrong I love Disney and had a blast but just not as spectacular as I thought. We saw the Lion King show where this 7 foot man who was really into character as a Rhino entertained us all immensely. I saw the Disney parade, went on all the good rides. My favourite was space mountain which was pretty crazy. We were super tired after this long day, including the 2 previous days which were all 12 hour days.

Okay so that brings me too today where we went to Versailles, an amazing Palace on the outskirts of town. Good old Louis the 14th, 16th and Marie Antoinette only amused me a little this time since I had already been to the Palace before: I am still amazed by the Gardens.... and would love to come back at some point to visit the other parts of Versailles that I have yet to explore.

Okay some stuff I have missed.... Paris is so beautiful Ilove it.... but it is kinda crazy that everyone here is kissing every five seconds; young and old.... kiss kiss kiss... it doesnt matter if it is under a beautiful sight like the Seine River at night or under a broken slide at the amusement park.... kiss kiss kiss. A part of me loves it but Ange and I decided Paris next time will be the place to travel with a boyfriend and not eachother (hint hint Rob).


Thats all for now... this keyboard and not being used to a computer is driving me crazy. Next time I will send a note will probably be from Switzerland in a couple days.


Gabrielle & Angela




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



3rd August 2006

Great Pics Gabrielle!
Finally, just as I was started to worry that I hadn't heard anything about you, there you were.....you know me. Anyway, great pictures and it sounds like you are having a great time. Keep the blogs coming.... Love you lots, MOM! XOXOXOXO
5th August 2006

Miss little Gabo...
WOW! Sounds like an amazing trip so far! Thanks for the blogs and pics, because as I have told you before, I gotta live through people like you! (and my fearless rafting buddy Angela). Definately try lots of different types of expensive wine...if it's free, of course! Stay safe, and keep having fun!!!
6th August 2006

holla atcha boi.
You smell...I can still smell you from here. :) I heart you. from J money.

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0915s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb