Sleepless in Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
April 20th 2013
Published: April 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I woke up at 5:30 am and just could not get back to sleep, so instead doing a bit of blogging and some Payroll reports. Its Saturday morning in Paris, something I would like to get use to. Not sure why I can't sleep longer, but I guess I can always take that afternoon nap.

I wanted to briefly go back to the croissant making. First, I have long known that there is simply no better croissant in the world than those made in Paris. In the states, I think the flour used is wrong and the dough is simply over worked, thus making them tougher. Also the butter, and yes there is a lot of it, is simply not high enough in fat. Croissants are not for the health concious or those on a diet and certainly cannot ever be made gluten free or in any vegan fashion.

The most important thing here is that if any of you are at our house for Sunday Brunch in the future and there are croissants, you can rest assured that I made them and I started Saturday morning early.

I also want to mention that to those of you that have read previous trip blogs and to those of you that are new, this first week will be quite different than the past. The Paris part of our trip is more about living here and not being a tourist. This means there is probably going to be a lot less about things to see and do and much more about the experience of every day life in Paris. After all we are thinking of relocating to France. This is one reason I am doing actual work here, to see if it is possible to continue my practice and live in Europe.

Once we get to Austria and beyond, then the blog will be more traditional and about sites, travel tips and always food. But for now it is about living in Paris.

So I will sign off for now to have some coffee and do some work.

Advertisement



17th May 2013

Hi guys, just want to say how much I am loving your blog! I started reading as I was searching for Berlin blogs as we are having our first visit there in January 2014. I then noticed that you had been to Prague and Salzburg, where we are also going for the first time, then I noticed Paris!!!! My favourite city of all time, have been three times in the last two years and wish I could go once more. Just loving everything I am reading. I particularly relate to the 5.30 wake ups, that is exactly what happens to me when I go to Europe, but my hubby just sleeps and sleeps ... Love your wine thirty - we have wine o\'clock lol. I think you may actually drink more wine that us, though I didn\'t think that was possible. Your whole way of holidaying seems very much like the way my husband and I like to holiday, really focussing on food and wine and just having a great time. I now intend to read all of the Paris bits, and look at some of your old blogs from your 50th in Paris. We turned 50 a couple of years ago, so can again relate. Thanks for a great read. Deb

Tot: 0.446s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb