Your blog comments!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
December 8th 2012
Published: December 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Travel blog is a fantastic way to chronicle your trips, but unfortunately when people leave comments, they aren't all that visible unless you go searching for them at the bottom.

So, I thought I'd post them all in one place on this blog.

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. It's nice to hear from you while away from home.

Guest comments are listed in bold, and my reply follows in italics.

Here you go!

Sally. I just wanted you to know that I truly enjoyed reading your Paris blogs - just finished last one while eating my peanut butter and jelly sandwich - and as always had a few LOL moments. You are truly a wonderful writer - with a nice blend of detail, wit and sarcasm. Wondering if you have ever watched Anthony Bourdain on the Travel Channel? Anyway, I'm hoping you travel again soon so I can read more entries. Merry Christmas to you & your family. - Cindy (from Pennyslvania)

Hi Cindy, thanks for taking the time to comment! I've got 5 trips on Travel Blog, so you can read them, especially in light of the fact you'd like to travel to Playa del Carmen! Keep me posted on that. If I can be of any help, please pick my brain (what's left of it!). Sal

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Leah:

Awe, sounds like you had a wonderful trip.

Hi Leah, it was quite memorable. If that last blog didn't say it all, I don't know what would! Sal

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Mom:

Sally, you have a wonderful way of putting words on paper and making it all so interesting. You surely have found your calling and I am so proud of you. I have been waiting for your blog and I sat down after supper and here it is. I think that I am going to print them out for future references in case I should head over there. HA HA What time is your flight? Lot "O" Love MOM XO

Oh mom, you are so cute. Of course you think I'm a good writer. What else would you say? I suppose you think I'm charming, witty, very attractive and smart too..right? Er, you do right? Love you mom!! Sal

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Pat:

I don't see my comment made on your first blog. I'm enjoying reading these blogs as they bring back memories of my trip to Paris. I'd love to see it again during the Christmas season to see all those lights. You really have to go to the Louve. Plan on going for the whole day. Research which items you really want to see and don't waste time in any of the wings that don't interest you. I could have spent 10 of your estimated 13 days there. From Pat

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Cindy (Pennsylvania)

Hi Sally; just having my morning bowl of cereal while reading your Paris post. Just wanted you to know that I enjoyed reading it, as usual, and had a few laugh out loud moments. enjoy every minute of your visit... life is short.

Hi Cindy, sheesh, good to know I'm not boring anybody! It's a fine line; but my family & friends are just too polite to say one way or the other!! Thanks for the comment; made my day! Sal

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Leah:

OMGolly I must say the lunch you made for yourself and Marth sounded yummy, and I am starving right about now and could jump through my computer screen to get some! What a good lady you are :-)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Dianna:

Very humorous blog Sally - keep up the good work - you do have a gift !

Thanks Dianna; I appreciate the comment! I enjoy sharing the trips with everyone at home!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Anne:

I love your frigging life! Can I have some cheese with my whine please? Bon voyage, ma belle Sally!

HA! Cheese with your whine!! I know, it's starting to sound like I'm this world traveler; I'm not, I am just crafty & it helps to go in off-season too! Thanks for checkin in Anne! Sal

<strong style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline;">-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

<strong style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline;">From Cindy:

<strong style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline;">Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Memories of dinner at the top of the Eiffel Tower:

So I don't know anyone who is more terrified of heights than me. Most shopping center escalators are off the list and I almost crawled around at the top of the Sears Tower in Chicago. That said, I put on my big girl panties years ago and had dinner at the Eiffel Tower and managed very well. The only problem was that I was right off the North Onslow back 40 and sent back my steak 3 times to make sure that it sufficiently gray and impossibly tough to chew...just how we were raised. If I can do it, so can Marth. Also, suggest you go back to Montmartre and stand up on a chair while in a drunken state and start singing "Alouette". Fond memories of my travels with a bunch of travel agents on a familiarization trip to Paris. And it wasn't me that sang. Enjoy and send us more stories! Cindy (sister) xoxoxo

HAHAHA I remember that story, you went for it and had a doozie of a time! Marth is willing; just need that sedative gun with me: I doubt we'll have time to do it but a girl can dream...thanks for the message Cin!!! How are you feelin'? Sal

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Mom:

The first thing I did this AM was to turn on my lap top and there it was....your e-mail. It is so good to hear about your experiences and you do a wonderful job of describing them. Keep them coming. You and Martha are going to be very tired today, maybe you will have a sleep in. Love, Mom XO

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Cindy (sister):

I have an idea after reading Leah's comment on the marbles. Why not go and buy a huge bag of marbles and then visit the shop. Quickly open the door and then let those marbles fly all over the floor. It would be a riot seeing her try to chase you without falling down. (Remember when we did that to Aunt Dorothy at the farm???) Love, your evil little blister (sister) Cindy xoxoxo

You and Leah should team up! that woman was obviously not in the mood for boot sales! I will take your suggestions to heart! Hilarious! Sal xoxoxo

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Manon,

So is that why you never serve pâtés then...lol...please note the correct spelling of it...lol. Enjoy the pâtés Martha, I agree with you, they are good...oh this is sooo funny. Just think, if a bus ticket would not have been lost, it would have been an uneventful day...gosh this is funny. As for the boot lady, I call that menopause. Love your pictures. Stay safe. I'll get you to show me how you secured your computer in your bag.

Holy frig Manon!! Do you think I have the time to put accents on pate? Oh you crack me up; you French you!!! We got a small lock, attached it to both zippers on our backpack, voila, no entry. Yes we are staying safe! Sal xoxo

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Leah

Thanks for the giggle about the shoe store lady and her"don't touch my diplay" I think she lost lots of marbles up there :-0 Christmas lights look beautiful. Take care and stay safe! Leah

Yes Leah she was over the top! I still haven't found a pair of boots I like! Sal

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Zully:

Hi Sal...Wow. You are blessed with this influx of great Art, scenery, photos, and relaxation. Enjoy my sweet friend. PLease say Hi to Martha....and enjoy a good Boujolais wine for me. I sent a message to you on Face book yesterday. I was off the internet for a week...hence my response missed you before your trip. Stay safe plus have fun. xoxo ;-

Hey Zully, it's been fantastic. Good to hear from you; I'll check FB! Sal

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Cindy in Pennsylvania:

Hello Sally; so here I am, in front of my computer, enjoying a glass of white wine in my PA home on the first snowfall of the season... daydreaming of summer vacation in Mexico and came across your blogs for Playa. thank you for your lovely & descriptive writing- I laughed when you wrote "shut the front door", "what's a girl got to do to get a drink around here". very interesting to find that in my previous searching on Playa that I came across the Luna Encantada condos. I will certainly consider them. Planning a family vacation to Playa this summer for 10 family members. will prob need 2 condos- but is very do-able. thanks again. I raise my glass to you- cheers- and will continue reading...

Hi Cindy, Glad you enjoyed my blogs! Sheesh the way you write, I was sure you were my own sister, who's also named Cindy! I raise my glass to you too; I will send you an email outside of this blog thread! Sal

<strong style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline;">-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

<strong style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline;">From Leah:

<strong style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline;">WOW that stained glass is something, so beautiful! Yes we got hit with some snow, and chilly weather, but we are Canadians so we can handle it just fine :-) Sounds like you had a wonderful tour with the hop on hop off bus, lucky duck!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Pat:

Your pictures are bringing back memories of my trips in Paris. The park and ferris wheel were walking distance from our hotel too so we walked through that area several times. Glad you are "enjoying" your trip so far. (Hope those blisters are not bothering you now) Pat

It's great to be so close to everything. I am really enjoying this trip; more than I thought I would! Sal

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Wendy:

Hi Sally, Great to hear and see the wonderful time you are having. The pics are great. Enjoy and take it all in. Wendy

Hi Wendy, it's amazing to see the sights at night especially; I have never seen Christmas decorations like this! Sal

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Leah:

I can't check out the video, as I am at work, and somethings are blocked. Love that saying you said for your girls "No matter how far apart we are, we are still looking at the same moon" precious!

Hi Leah, it's hard to be so far away & with the time difference it's difficult to call. So we'll skype and email. Thanks for the emails; great to hear from you. Tell Sammie I said hello! Sal

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Cindy (Sister)

Wow, you guys have been busy getting out and seeing the sights. I hope you guys had a good sleep and are seeing more sights today. Thanks for the update and all the pics...they are terrific. xoxoxo

Hey Cin, we are having a great time. We did a tour today, and seeing the city lit up at night is something else. Will send more info; having a happy hour mojito right now!! We're at La Bombe now! Sal

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Mom:

The first thing I did this AM was to turn on my lap top and there it was....your e-mail. It is so good to hear about your experiences and you do a wonderful job of describing them. Keep them coming. You and Martha are going to be very tired today, maybe you will have a sleep in. Love, Mom XO

Hiya ma; we're having a great time. Did a tour today, and saw the city lit up at night. We've stopped for a drink at www.bistrotenville.com

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Leah:

Glad you made it safe Sal! Sounds like you ladies are enjoying the people, food and drinks so far. Keep the updates coming. If you talk with your kiddies today they will sure be telling you it's SNOWED last night!

Snow? Well I guess it was bound to come at some point; glad it waited till I was gone! Sal

<strong style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline;">----------------------------------------------------------------------------

<strong style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline;">From Zully:

<strong style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline;">Great trip looking from the photos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Sandy:

Hey there! My friend Tiffany at work lived in Paris & says some of the nicest areas to just walk around are Saint-Germain (6th arrondissement), good restaurants & little boutiques. Very français. The 1st Arrondissement is also nice. Nicest bridge - Pont Alexandre III. She also says if you have time, go to Pierre Hermé for some macaroons....best in Paris. Here are two of his most famous locations: 72 rue Bonaparte 75006 Paris 4 rue Cambon 75001 Paris She says if you cannot get to either store, there's a little stand in Galeries Lafayette (department store) in the food hall. Keep on enjoying all that is Paris! Hang on to Martha and her tickets! I hope her Key Note goes well! That boot story, OMG! I'm surprised you didn't deck her, but I guess an international incident is not wise!? Not a bad idea to knock it over and run tho'...'just sayin' (teehee) Hope we don't hear from Interpol lookin' for a character reference! lol Hugs! Sandy

Hey thanks San for all the advice. I will check it out! I have a few days by myself to tour around. I will check out the map so I know where in the name of god I am! We're close to everything for the most part; metro, shopping, dining etc. I will email you about how Lind's shower went!! Sal

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Leah:

Sally.... I already hear you screaming in happiness! Have a wonderful trip. So nice to have your on your side and want you to go and enjoy your time and great family to be around to help Al. Leah

Yes Leah the kids & Al & others have made it possible. I am trying not to scream to loud; just clicking my Irish heels!! Sal

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Mom:

Claire du Lune is so beautiful, I have it downloaded on my MP3 Player.

It is beautiful & moving. I miss ya mom!!! Sal xoxo

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Mom:

It is great to get your e-mail, I have been thinking of you. I am sure there is so much to see, where do you start? The title of that salad is not very appitizing with the word pig and trotter in it. Don't forget that I grew up on a farm and I saw alot of trotting pigs. Have a great time, Mom XOXO

Hi mom, I thought you'd get a kick out of that one (kick; pun intended with the pig's feet) Love you too mammy! Sal xo

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Leah:

I am sooo jealous.. I sure love food and you get so much good food being in Paris and looking and reading about it, is just killing me over here!

Hi Leah; well right now we took a bus tour over to Montmarte and are eating in a little bistro with a lovely grilled chicken pannini. And...a mojito!! Couldn't be better!! Sal

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Leah:

WOW that stained glass is something, so beautiful! Yes we got hit with some snow, and chilly weather, but we are Canadians so we can handle it just fine :-) Sounds like you had a wonderful tour with the hop on hop off bus, lucky duck!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb