Paris Part Deux


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
July 15th 2006
Published: August 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Eiffel Tower at SunsetEiffel Tower at SunsetEiffel Tower at Sunset

This is the night I waited in line to go to the top and they closed the top after I waited an hour!
I’m back at Paris. I finally caved and called in the Marriott Calvary. (My brother, Greg, works for the Marriott and can get good family rates at times.) When we got to Biot I had a little bit of a meltdown. I was a little homesick, I realized I didn’t know where the heck I wanted to go after Wendy left, and I was sick of planning. So Paris and a week at the Marriott sounded pretty darn good. I loved Paris, and this would give me time to see more of the city and regroup to figure out what I wanted to do for the rest of my six weeks. THANK YOU GREG!

Tour de France
I’m not a big biking fan, but I did read Lance Armstrong’s book and lived with a triathlete long enough to have a small clue about Tour de France, so I figured I should head down to Champs-Elysees and represent for all my friends who love the sport. After cramming my way towards the street to get some photos, I ran into Haagen Dazs for some ice cream and strolled down Champs-Elysees as American Floyd Landis was announced as the winner and our
Paris SkylineParis SkylineParis Skyline

From the Eiffel Tower.
national anthem played. Seems that is was the day for Americans with Tiger winning the British Open (Marriott . . . I’ve got CNN!).

Lotions and Potions
My friend Erin always loved to stay at my house because I had lots of “lotions and potions” as she called it. Yes, I like products. Going on this trip I had to minimize a few things: shoes, clothes and products. Clothes was not a hard one for me; shoes and products was another story. But I did it.

It was a hot day in Paris, so I walked into Sephora for some air conditioning and “just to look”. I met Gorete, a wonderful woman who worked at Sephora. We hit it off and next thing you know I walked out of there with a whole bag of lotions and potions! I went back the day before I left to pick up something for my friend Kristin and ended up spending another hour (and some euros) hanging out with Gorete. Not quite sure how I’m going to fit all this in my bag, but I do love my purchases and all the free samples from Gorete!

Random thoughts on Paris
Medici GrottoMedici GrottoMedici Grotto

Cool area in Luxembourg Gardens.
. . .

- The city is beautiful and terribly romantic. If it was a bit cooler outside I’d never want to leave (especially if they spoke Italian!)

- “Voila!” I still smile when someone says Voila, but to them its just an ordinary word saying “there you go”.

- The women always look beautifully put together and carry themselves with perfect posture (even when it’s 100 degrees in a hot, sweaty, smelly metro).

- Yes, people tend to smell a bit more than other places I’ve been to in Europe.

- I love all the signs in Paris . . . they are so French. From the font, to the color of the awning, to the way they light up.

- After a week here I can actually pronounce Champs-Elysees!

- I love that their cafes are set up to enjoy the scenery. People watching is a sport here. You can sit next to your mate (or imaginary friend in my case) and just watch the city while sipping your coffee and wine.

- Ordering food - It’s always fun when you are confident you ordered chicken, but something entirely different
Cool BridgeCool BridgeCool Bridge

I forget the name of the bridge.
shows up with anchovies on top. Ick!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Arch de TriompheArch de Triomphe
Arch de Triomphe

I love the little smart cars!
No Need For LadderNo Need For Ladder
No Need For Ladder

This guy was as tall as the little girl on top of her dad's shoulders!
Flying the FlagsFlying the Flags
Flying the Flags

Tour de France at Champs Elysees.


5th August 2006

encore! J'adore Paris!!
Merci pour les photos encore.

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0791s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb