Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 12th 2009
Published: September 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Paris... was nice. I don´t really know what to say about Paris. It has a lot to offer but I didn´t really feel the magic that is "Paris." All the main attractions are impressive - Louvre (huge!! saw the Mona Lisa though I liked a lot of the other paintings much more), Eifel Tower, walk by the river, Notre Dame Cathedral (guy with a gorgoues voice sang for mass), Sacred Heart Church (beautiful on the inside but can´t take pics and had a wonderful view of the city).

I was really turned off by the rudeness and unwillingness to help of many Parisians. I had hear this is how they were from several people but it still surprised me. At the Louvre, where there are thousands/millions of visitors a year, the lady at the audio guide desk only gave me a very short answer and you could tell she was not happy to talk to me. I heard that old people are worse and young people are more willing to speak English - well I thought this old lady at a CHURCH might help me. I just wanted to know what time mass was and so I said "Hello, do
Perrine!Perrine!Perrine!

Dinner at a delicious Italian restaurant with a friend who studied abroad at SC.
you speak English"in French and she shook her head. And I just said ¨mass?¨ And in French, the word for mass is pretty close so I think she could´ve understood me. Instead, she said something in a very rude tone saying "When in France, you must speak French... yada yada." I understand being proud of your language, but when you have people coming to see your city from all around the world, wouldn´t you think people would be kinder in order to attract people to their city? I thought about how people who don´t speak English would feel if they were in the US considering we don´t have many signs or things in other languages (depending on where you are), but I think most people would at least try to draw you a map or help you in some way. Anyway, it was a big turn off.

The great experience in Paris was couchsurfing. I sent a last minute request to the "Emergency Couch Request" and this really nice girl Jessica said I could stay at her place. Turns out she had 4 other CSers staying with her and people left and new ones came each day. It was
CouchsurfersCouchsurfersCouchsurfers

Ricardo (Brazil), Maike (Germany), Me, Jessica (host, Angola), Atis (Latvia), Luis (cousin, Angola)
like a little hostel, meeting people from all around the world, eating with them, going out to see the city.

Advertisement



18th September 2009

Paris hasn't changed
Sorry to hear Parisian rudeness hasn't changed since I was there 31 (is that possible?) years ago! But thank the Lord for Jessica! I hope the people of smaller French towns were nicer. Did you meet up with CSers we hosted? Can't remember what town they were from. Hopefully we'll all remember to be kind to those you don't speak our language and need help. Hugs & Kisses, Mom
18th September 2009

Paris
Monica, I'm sorry about the rude French people---Just to get even, I'll never eat French-fries again! But CS experience sounds great. Is tomorrow the day I can heave a big sigh of relief? Love you!
26th September 2009

Happy
Happy, happy, happy birthday, Monica! Know it will be one to remember. Looking forward to your next blog. Love you, miss you, Grandpa and Grandma

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb