Viva Le France!!!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
July 12th 2009
Published: July 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I Finally Made It!!!!



I came to Paris with a few expectations, both good and bad. On the good side was the fact that every time you turn around there was another building , fountain or monument to make your jaw drop a little further. On the bad was that I had been told expect it to be dirty, smelly and full of thieves. Upon exiting the train station I found the buildings instantly and now know what everyone talks about when they say Parisian architecture. Unfortunately I also found the smell, kind of a mixture between rotting garbage in stagnant water, and urine, though the streets were clean and uncluttered. Not to be put off, I headed for the metro to see whether the thieves theory was true.

Arriving in the late afternoon on a Saturday meant at least I wasn't fighting off the crowds in the metro as I tried to get to my hostel on the other side of town. After a brief and halting attempt at some French with the ticket attendant, I was off. Keeping a sharp eye on my surroundings (see Mum, I do listen!!!), I managed two connections and a different ticketing system all on my lonesome without any hassles and still in possession of all my belongings.

So what is one to do with their first night in Paris???? See their national trademark of course!! With a brisk walk West of the hostel, I happened across the Seine River and followed it towards the city centre. This is where I saw her. No....not he Eiffel Tower but the second of the Statue Of Libertys out of the three. Once again, somewhat disappointing, standing on an island on the Seine. Not as big as they make it out to be again and no way to take the photograph that you always see of it standing in front of the Eiffel Tower. Damn it!!! Fooled by cinematography again!! When will I learn.

Now, where was I???? That's right... national trademark. Following the river further and suddenly you round a corner of office blocks and elevated train lines, and there she is. Well actually she's still about a mile away but it was the first glimpse I saw of the Tour Eiffel. Standing in all it's glory looking out of the city and it's people. All I could think was "Yep, I'm in Paris!

Starting off the next day, I thought I'd get my bearings by doing another of the Sandermans - New Europe Free Tours that I did in Edinburgh. Meeting at Saint Michel Fontaine, we covered Notre Dame, The Seine River, The Academy, The Louvre, Jardin Du Palais Royal, Jardin Du Carousel, Jardin des Tuileries, Place De La Concorde, Grande Palais and Petite Palais. It also covered much of the history of the city from it's beginning when people settled there about 2500 years ago, through the Roman times when it was renamed Paris in the Third Century, past the monarchs including a lot of guys named Louis and Henry, through the first revolution at the end of the 18th Century, back into the hands of royalty again (this time they were mainly named Louis-Phillippe) and through the second down to the fifth revolutions. It even covered the Nazi occupation of Paris in the 40's and the reason why Paris is still in such good shape having come out of both World Wars relatively unscathed. A lot to fit into four hours but I wasn't done yet.

From the Grande Palais it's only a quick trip from there up the Avenue Des Champs Elysees and culminating at the Arc De Triomphe. This monument commissioned by Napoleon was to commemorate his victorious return from battle but it wasn't finished construction until after he died in 1821. It now pays homage to the grave of an unknown soldier from World War 1 and has an eternal flame under it's span. After wlaking around for the last five or so hours the question is did I have enough left in me for the 284 steps to the top? Damn straight!! I wasn't coming all this way and not going the last bit. The view from the terrace overlooks the North of Paris with the Eiffel Tower and Sacre Coeur both visible in opposite directions. The gold dome of the Concergerie and the spires of Saint Chappelle in Ile De La Cite stands out above the endless six story high apartments and in the distance can be seen the Pantheon. Quite a sight!!

Had enough for the day you reckon?? Not me!! Next stop... Montmartre, home of the artists and human industries of Paris. Coming out of Blanche Station the first site you are hit with is the Moulin Rouge. An unimaginative name really considering moulin stands for windmill and rouge for red so really it's just a red windmill. Seemingly since the movie came out the prices have tripled and it's still just a sexy cabaret. Joining another tour we head up the hill (the highest point in Paris) passing Van Gogh's house, the restaurant where Picasso swapped drawings for food, the last vineyard in Paris, scenes from the movie Amelie and finally reached the summit where Sacre Coeur stands. Built as a thanks to God for sending the Prusian army away after a year long siege on the city, it's white stones and gargoyles ascend to a dome with unsurpassed views of the city. Being a Sunday we couldn't climb it but even the view from the front stairs is pretty breath-taking.

And that was just the first day!!!

"No man should travel until he has learned the language of the country he visits. Otherwise he voluntarily makes himself a great baby-so helpless and so ridiculous." - Ralph Waldo Emerson


Additional photos below
Photos: 98, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb