Day(s) of Rest


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
February 26th 2009
Published: February 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sunday has always been considered a day of rest. Over the years this has changed a bit as more places are open on Sunday and business usually proceeds pretty normally, not so in France, or at least where I am at. After entertaining ourselves for a couple of hours after we had woken up Liz, Alysha and I decided to go to our local Leader Price to buy something for dinner as we do pretty much every night. Imagine our surprise when we discovered that it was closed at only 5 pm! Thanks to passed along information I now know that a. I should pay more attention to what Sophie says and b. Leader Price is only open until noon on Sundays. Well I guess it was a lesson learned and a mistake not likely to be repeated as dinner that night was cookies and couscous (for the 1000th time; it seemed like no matter how many times we made it another packet magically appeared in the box) with some leftover spaghetti sauce on it to try and spice it up. It didn’t really work that well but it was edible at least.
The next day we all got to rest even more as we only had one class that day due to one of our teachers not being there. Unfortunately it was the three hour-long class. Actually it wasn’t really all that bad. We started talking about the pieces we would be performing and it was all good until the prof started to assign parts. She said that it was temporary but I had a feeling that they would stick (and I was right). As I said I can’t act. Well the prof went around asking if we wanted to play this part or another. She decided that I would be good to play the part of this wife who harasses her husband into going to a play that her sister is in. Apparently my qualification for this is that my prof thinks that I have personality, but I am probably just timid. When I seemed hesitant about taking the role she asked me if it was true if I did have personality or not. I wasn’t sure how to respond to that a part of me wanted to say no just to get out of the role but I mean who says they have no personality? I mean even if it were true which I have no idea if it is or not (based on my friends reactions I am thinking no), I wouldn’t admit to having no personality.
Now I have this big part because as I suspected the assignments are not temporary, but thankfully the two other people in my piece are nice and easy to work with. I am working with the guy from Austria, Martin, and the girl from Nigeria, Imelda (no idea if that is right). Best of all I can understand their French. I’ve had to work with people before whose French I couldn’t understand and this doesn’t help them to lead you back if you forget a line. Anyway that was pretty much my Monday.


Advertisement



27th February 2009

shops closed on sundays
Hey! I'm French but still I do understand your surprise! I'm always complaining of that! And the fact your Leader prise was open on Sunday morning is not very usual! It's because you were in Paris... I am now in Bath (UK) where shops are open on Sundays at least till 4pm... I like it so much! Hope you had a great moment there Marie

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb