Creeper plus goat cheese equals delicious


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
December 5th 2008
Published: December 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

La DefenseLa DefenseLa Defense

The modern business district.
Ok, so today I was a bit of a creeper. After my movie for film class (exceptionally boring: a philosopher sat in a chair and talked forEVER), I headed out to the edge of Paris to see the Musee Marmottan. Except that when I got there, I stood outside and realized that I didn't actually want to go in. This is very strange. I recognize that, but for some reason I did not want to go in and look at impressionist paintings. This is made even weirder by the fact that it was ideal museum-going weather. Windy, cold, and lightly raining. Instead, I wandered into a park nearby. I realized when I got there that I did not know where I was and to find the metro would mean back-tracking to the museum and then retracing my steps. I must have been in a contrary mood because this did not appeal either. Instead I decided to be a creeper. I followed this older couple under an umbrella out of the park. I figured that if they weren't going to a metro stop, or at least somewhere interesting, I could always just stop following them. I tried to be sneaky and kept
La Grande ArcheLa Grande ArcheLa Grande Arche

Actually a business office.
a respectable distance. I even peeled and ate an orange so as to appear more innocent. Lo and behold, they went directly to a metro. Amazing. Maybe I should make a habit of following old couples with umbrellas.

Anyway, I got on the metro and went out to La Defense. It's the big, modern, urban business district across the river from Paris. There was a law passed several years ago (probably more like 30) that forbid the construction of skyscrapers in Paris after the monstrosity of Tour de Montparnasse was built. It's hideous, so I don't blame them. To get around this law, one of the presidents of France or mayors of Paris decided to build up a modern section of Paris outside the actual city limits. When I came out of the metro, it felt like I was not even in Paris anymore. It was more like Taiwan or Tokyo or something ultramodern. All these buildings were shiny and weirdly-shaped. The famous one is La Grande Arche. It's actually a huge office building in the shape of an arch. Plus, it lines up exactly with the Champs-Elysees and Arc de Triomphe. It was ridiculously windy and rainy when I was looking around. Needless to say, I looked like a drowned cat after my hour of wandering.

I met up with Devon and we used our free movie tickets (from IES for being delegates from class) to go see The Duchess. It was pretty good. Oh and we got ice cream from Jeff de Bruges for only 2 euro right before the show. When I went home, I discovered a new and delicious combination during dinner. Toasted bread+Goat cheese (chevre)+Honey= Delicious amazingness. Try it. You will not regret it, I promise.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb