The city of love...Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 1st 2008
Published: October 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

When I grow up I wanna be a train driver!When I grow up I wanna be a train driver!When I grow up I wanna be a train driver!

The Eurostar after we arrived in Paris with loads of english bugs on front.
Well, it's been 3 years since I've been to Paris and that was just a two day fly by visit, so it was nice to sit back and take in the culture this time round.

Taking off from London on the Eurostar we arrived in Paris an hour and a half later. I can see why so many people use it...you go from the centre of London (St Pancras train station) to the centre of Paris (Nord du Guard station) without having to get out to an airport and stuff around. There's still a passport and baggage check but it's soooo much easier.

Paris was kind to us with sunny days for the four days we were there. The French seem to operate on french time, which is to rise late, go to bed late and chain smoke and drink a lot of coffee in between. We hung out with the tourists for a few days, going on a hop-on, hop-off bus tour one day, taking in the sights of a market along the Seine another day and enjoying a night at Moulin Rouge for aunty Meagan's ??th birthday...yes, that's right, her ??th birthday! We also found an Australian Pub around the corner from the hotel and watched the footy one afternoon. It felt like a time warp with crepes and delicate bonjour's and merci's outside, then fosters and yobbo yelling inside. Got to love being ostralian!

I had an interesting ordering experience the first night we arrived and ordered steak tartare. I remembered a friend saying it was a french delicacy, I just didn't realise it was a bad one until a raw mince meat patty came out...ewww! I had a few mouthfuls feeling embarassed, but at the end of the day it's still catfood and ewww! That would explain why the waitress bought out about 10 different sauces before the meal! The french crepes definately made up for it though. I was a huge fan of the nutella and banana crepes. They were as thick as pancakes and big enough for two people. The best thing was that they were available on pretty much every street corner at any time of the day...it was like a dream! A sweet chocolately yummy dream!!

The walk along the markets on the Seine was fantastic. It was a beautiful sunny day and a lovely experience. Mostly touristy stuff was up for sale but only in Paris would there be an art exhibition on a bridge crossing the river and then hundreds of people rollerblading for charity on the other side, it was cRaZy. I saw a lady on rollerblades pushing a pram and then about 10 minutes after they had all passed a few ambulances came through with casualties! Apparently a hardcore sport...

Moulin Rouge was fantastic although I think I've reached my seeing topless ladies quota! The theatre was cosy and the costumes were incredible, even if they were just the bottom bit! The meal and champagne was lovely although I would have saved mine for the itty bitty dancers if they came out first...no cellulite dimples on that stage, that's for sure!

Check out the pics of our itty bitty lift at the hotel!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Inside the Aussie pubInside the Aussie pub
Inside the Aussie pub

Fosters on tap...
Metro sign...Metro sign...
Metro sign...

Pretty easy train system to get around on.
Yummmmm....Yummmmm....
Yummmmm....

I love french crepes!
Aunty MeaganAunty Meagan
Aunty Meagan

& tiny Eiffel tower to the left
Chubby Mona at the MarketChubby Mona at the Market
Chubby Mona at the Market

Too cute! If I go back to Paris this is on my 'to get' list!


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb