Last weekend, and the usual school update


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 15th 2008
Published: October 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, last weekend we went to Gigny (pronounced jee-nee) where my host family has a second house.
The car ride was not exactly pleasant, as it was nearly three hours long and Clara and Alex were alternately tired and hyper, and they switched roles every fifteen minutes.
We got there at about 9PM. The house is actually too small for all of us, so Jessie and I slept next door, at the house of one of Delphine's old friends, Daniel, who is incredibly nice.

It turned out that the reason we were there this weekend is that it was the date of the fete of Gigny's patron saint, so all 98 locals and 30-some Parisians who own property there turned out for a party on Saturday night. We got there at 8PM. Dinner started at 9. The small children left at 10:30. I left at 2AM. The party ended at 5AM.

I actually spoke some English that night-a couple who've lived in Gigny for 5 years, who Delphine and Michel had apparently never met before, speak english, because the woman (Jackie) is from Pennsylvania, and her husband, (Terry) is Scottish. This is a tiny village with a population of less than 100, for whom the local "store" is whichever business drives a van in for an hour or two every morning.

Sunday, we packed up, spent hours saying goodbye to people, and went home.

School:

Science-not bad, we haven't had to disect anything since the first time, and I think I understand physics
Math-still easy. We had a test yesterday, so we'll see how that turns out.
German-I think I'm going to know the entire etymology of the English language by the end of the year.
English-still an excellent way to learn new words in French
History/Geography-mostly comprehensible, still
Philosophy-still just goes too fast for me
PE-I will never stop hating badminton
French-Please, someone explain Gargantua to me! Sixteenth century satire in French is beyond my level of comprehension!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb