Wandering around the city


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 11th 2008
Published: October 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The first few pictures in the blog are from Lac Daumesnil in Bois de Vincennes. I looked on my map and found the biggest green space that I could find. This is only a small portion of the space, but it is really pretty. The entire park covers 210 hectares. One of the things that I liked about the lake was all of the people that were jogging. I have found that in many of the green spaces people are very active. Had I not brought my great big jacket with my, I may have explored more, but I just wasn’t prepared. Ahh, one of the perks of living here, I can always go back for more!

The rest of the pictures were taken yesterday. The first portion of my day I decided to spend finding out how much my school books were going to cost me, and then determine which ones I had to buy and which ones were not worth it when I started my classes. Well…this turned out to be more of a scavenger hunt than I had anticipated. Thank goodness mom and I did our global scavenger hunt; I felt a little more prepared to scour Paris for a list of books.

I am slowly coming to the realization that things are done a little differently here, especially the way some schools are run. Unlike Canadian schools, where you have one book store and your teachers have made sure that all of you books are there, this would be different. When the list of books was handed out, I asked where to find them. I was told in San Michel (right next to Notre Dam) there are books stores with yellow banners and down the street with blue; I can find my books there. Please note, these stores are there, but there are eight of the yellow banner books stores, which each sell different types of books. It took me one wrong store to figure this out and I headed to the right store that sold business and economics books. I was able to find four of the fourteen books I am supposed to have. The prices ranged from 20 - 45 euros (which was the range for all the books I found). Considering the book that was 45 euros is on sport marketing, I may not waste my money.

After here, I headed to the blue book store. I found it easily enough and started wandering around. After hitting the three levels of the store, I did not find any books that I needed. After walking out, I saw another blue banner books store and the light bulb turned on - this chain splits up their space too. So I headed into the next store that sold the types of books that I needed. I was able to find three more books, but one would not be available until December 12. That left seven books on my list that I could not find in the locations provided to me by my school.

I am yet to mention that only one of the books that I found was in English. Yes, the rest were all in French. I have decided that I was not going to stress myself out too much over these books, considering I wasn’t sure if I was even going to buy them. Nonetheless, while I wandered around the city I would stop in books stores and check them out. Luckily I really enjoy bookstores so I liked my purpose for the day.

Aside from finding my school books and their prices, I wanted to go near the Eiffel Tower and take some day shots of it. From the blue banner books store I was about six km, so I decided to meander through the streets on my way. When ever I saw a book store that looked like it would sell the types of books I needed, I stopped in. As it turned out, I was able to track down four more books, and one of them was even in English. So there are only three books on my list that cannot be bought unless ordered online.

Not only that, but I stumbled upon the Saint Germain Church and the Pantheon. I knew of them and virtually where they were, but I had not made special trips to go and see them. I did plan on going to Les Invalides though, and I found it spectacular. If I had planned to spend a good portion of my day there, I would have gone to the museums, but by this time I was starting to get a little tired, and I still had a social outing that night. So I just wandered around the grounds and headed to the Eiffel Tower. The Tower is impressive at night, but the day it is also very stunning.

When I walked over by the Natural History museum to get a good shot of the tower with the sun in the back, I noticed a bunch of tents set up and people milling around. I decided to check it out. What I discovered was the preparations of an annual twenty km run in Paris that is being held tomorrow. The sponsors of the event were there, participants were picking up their packages, and vendors were selling jogging equipment or promoting other sporting events. I grabbed a few brochures and may look into doing something small in the future.

By the time I walked around the event, I realized I have been wandering for over 6 hours and my feet were starting to go numb. I decided to hop on a bus and head towards home. After about fifteen minutes on the bus I saw a big row of other tents lined up next to the military university promoting a career fair. I could not help myself, I hopped off the bus and headed over. Unfortunately, noticing the mass exodus from the tents, I was getting the distinct impression it was ending. I found a poster that informed me the event hosted 450 employers with 40000 job opportunities, October 9th and 10th, from 9h to 18h. I looked at my watch and it was exactly 18h on October 10th. I still tried to get in, but the security guard was having none of that. Granted, I don’t think I would have found the type of job that I want right now, but it would have been really great to see what the Paris market is looking for. I did grab a couple of free recruiting magazines that were being handed out outside and it has shown me to keep my eye open for other events similar - network, network, network.

So I headed home, grabbed a quick bite to each, changed my shoes and headed to my first INSEEC evening social. My school, INSEEC, had organized a welcome night for the new students to get together and meet one another. I wasn’t sure who was going to be there, but welcomed the idea of gaining some friends. A girl that I had met the day before, who is from Denmark and in my program was there and I started chatting with her. Then I met two other girls from France and another girl from Columbia. The French girls were not in the same program as us, but they were super nice and we exchanged email. The other girls I will be seeing on Monday, seeing as we are in the same program and they are great too. My roommate, Thierry, was going to go to the social with me, but he had to work late. We are considering going out this evening and do something, if he doesn’t have any problems at work to make him stay late.

I will be thinking over everyone back home in Canada this weekend. I am considering getting a Cornish game hen or something of the sort to make for dinner. Maybe make a cranberry stuffing with it. Not even a inclining of the fast approaching holiday here. I will just have to make the holiday myself. I hope you all have a great Thanksgiving dinner and I will be thinking of you. And I can’t forget that special day is shared with a special person - HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM!!!!!


Xoxoxo
Ville de Charenton Le Pont – Cimetiere Ancien; near Lac DaumesnilVille de Charenton Le Pont – Cimetiere Ancien; near Lac DaumesnilVille de Charenton Le Pont – Cimetiere Ancien; near Lac Daumesnil

I am not really sure what it is with cats and cemetaries, but there is some sort of weird connection. This is the first time I have seen a cat in Paris. Not only that, but when I was at Recoleta cemetary in Buenos Aires, it was covered in cats aswell, even though the rest of the city is not. Weird

Leslie







Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Modern MachineryModern Machinery
Modern Machinery

This one is for mom and Susan
BocceBocce
Bocce

In almost every park space one can find atleast one group of men playing bocce, if not more.
Inside the Church of St.Germain des Pres Inside the Church of St.Germain des Pres
Inside the Church of St.Germain des Pres

Apparently this is supposed to be the oldest church in Paris, having been constructed in 6th Century. It have had to have considerable reconstruction since that time, but looks amazing.
The Church of St.Germain des Pres The Church of St.Germain des Pres
The Church of St.Germain des Pres

Paris has soo many churches!
Les InvalidesLes Invalides
Les Invalides

The complex of buildings houses the Musee de l'Armee, the Musee des Plans-Reliefs, and the Musee d'Histoire Contemporaine (Army museum, Military model museum (3D models of fortified cities for military purposes), and contemporary history museum). In addition to this, Napolean's tomb is located here. I didnt' get a chance to inside the museums because it was getting late in the day, but I took outside pictures. Inside ones are yet to come.


Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb