A schmoo in paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
July 11th 2008
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey all,

Ok this is a backdated msg as I´m currently in a hostel in barcelona, in the dark trying to write a blog - woe is me huh?

Firstly, sorry to the London crew who i missed in my short stay in the city - i spent it with my brother who i havent seen in ages plus i was jet lagged as hell, will catch up with you when I´m back for my elective. Oh and i saw billy elliot with a half price ticket - very happy!

I was in paris from the 12 - 14th and it was fantastic. I had so many pinch me im in paris moments. I stayed in this hostel that had was a converted convent in st paul, awesome location and very very pretty with its cobblestone streets and people making crepes on the street and ppl on bikes with french sticks. The only bad thing - not too many opportunities to meet the other hostel dwellers and the bloody three stories of windy stairs, which today i actually fell down - only the last step but thoughts of travelling with a broken ankle did cross my mind..all is well though thank god for my already bendy ankle ligaments!

I did most of the tourist things - by far the stand outs were saint chappelle, notre dame, The lourve, Musee D´orsay and the Eiffel tower - especially at night when it was bring blue with yellow stars! I also spent a day in Versaille which was amazing - and a beautiful sunny day to laze on the elaborate gardens and munch on a baggette. There were many times where i stood quite embarrassingly with my mouth wide open in awe...there was no drool..at least i dont think so..

I´ve taken so many photos - i think its my way of showing everyone how beautiful i´m finding everything and how every street corner and cobblestone path seems new and exciting, will try to post up when i´m at a hostel for a bit longer. I´m also getting quite good at the one handed self portraits!

Other cool things have been random meetings with meddies - Fil and Ivy are about and I bumped into Emma Mooney as i was lost and crossing a street, to my surprise and delight there was a familiar face!

But as always the sun aint always shining - the biggest dilemma I´ve had so far is with my eurail - i went to book my train to barcelona and after waiting in the line for 2 hours was promptly told - there are no trains to barcelona for the next 2 weeks with eurail. My heart sank and panic stations were well and truly alarming, anyway we found me a train, unfortunately it means that I spend days travelling instead of in barcelona, paris and rome. But this i guess are the trails and tribulations of travel (hmm nice aliteration there!) and it actually meant that i spent the day today in a lil town called Narbonne which was just as beautiful as paris but without the hoards of people. This does leave me a worried about the rest of my trip though, hopefully i can use my eurail pass for my other trips - those guys yet to travel in a european summer book ahead!

Ok I´ll leave it there, will write soon about barcelona! So excited!

Schmoo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb