La Louvre


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 3rd 2008
Published: June 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

MedusaMedusaMedusa

Sara I got this one for you - I laughed as soon as I saw its face hahaha
Hullo Family!

I figured I'd do an entry just for the Louvre since I took so many pictures there.

I'm in Edinburgh now, staying at the Argyle Backpacker's Hotel. It's a very homey place - more like a bed and breakfast than a hostel but uber cheap so I'm happy. The people are really nice as well. I'm rooming with a Chinese mother and daughter and a Hungarian woman from Dublin. Dad you would've liked her she reminded me of someone but I can't remember who now. Well anyway, she recommended I head on over to a tour of the highlands and glencoe with this specific tour group so I just might. It all depends on how much work I can get done at the archives here. From my hostel it's only about a 10-15 minute walk to the National Library which is excellent and since they are open long hours I think I'll get a lot done!

I also took "Scott from Scotland"'s advice on that ghost tour for Edinburgh so I'm going to go tomorrow night at 8. Apparently it's quite good. There's another one too later that I might go to as well if the first one is good. I can't remember the name of it, but apparently the poltergeist attacks people on the tour hahaha I figured it couldn't hurt.

Edinburgh itself is okay - very busy. I think I might have liked Glasgow better but I figure I just need a couple days to adjust. The scenery here is nicer by far. I walk through this really nice park every day to get from my hostel to the library and there are tons of really quaint shops and historical sites along the way to see. I ended up picking up a couple of souvenirs for mom today at one of the shops and popped in to St. Giles Cathedral too. It was pretty nice but some of the church was under construction so I couldn't see as much as I wanted to.

I'd been planning to go to Edinburgh Castle later in the week but the royal family (or someone important) is there so they've shut it down. Figures hahahaha I'm just hoping they re-open it sometime later in the week so I can check it out while I'm here.

Might take a hike early tomorrow morning to Arthur's Seat - apparently it offers a beautiful view of the city.

Sorry for not keeping in touch while in Paris. My cell ran out of battery as did my computer so I was sort of electronically stranded till I got back to Scotland last night. I'll try to keep my entries more regular now that I have steady internet again, but for now check out my pics from the Louvre.

Lots of love,

Jennifer
xo


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Cupid and PsycheCupid and Psyche
Cupid and Psyche

I love everything about this sculpture - the expression on the faces, the alignment of their bodies, the way they're embracing - it's just perfect.
AmazingAmazing
Amazing

Check out the dress this woman is wearing. I can hardly believe it's marble - it looks like they just draped it over her body.
ViolenceViolence
Violence

This sculpture is pretty much the embodiment of violence. I l love the movement in it though
Venus De MiloVenus De Milo
Venus De Milo

a bit of a snore...
ExpressionExpression
Expression

I think this was a Christian about to be slaughtered. I just loved his expression - the pain is so vivid.
SoldierSoldier
Soldier

What I liked about this one was the soldier's face. He has a very empathetic expression - like he doesn't want to be doing what he's doing but he's obligated to by duty


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb