Le 5me Jour - The Day of Rest


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
May 26th 2008
Published: May 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Crazy moving sidewalk!The Crazy moving sidewalk!The Crazy moving sidewalk!

I went back for this photo...
Day 5. Monday May 26th.

I was pretty exhausted after my adventures on Sunday, so today was a bit of a day of rest for me. I decided to try and visit the Crypts today, so I headed out to find Les Catacombes. Turns out the are closed on Lundi, so I went to the Tour Mount-Parnasse. I didn't actually end up going up the tower, just wandered around a bit. I then headed to St.Germaine for a snack (which turned out to be a 4 Euro 30 coke at a cafe, 'cause it was pouring rain. I decided that today was not the day to be out trying to do anything too exciting, so I wandered around Bercy Village (where I'm staying) and found a convienience store. I bought a couple of bottles of wine, a wheel of Camenmbert (... camenbert...ahh forget it. The spell-check is en français, so everything is wrong anyway), and a bottle of sprite for about 25 euros. Did I mention that one of the bottles was a Chateau-neuf-du-pape? It's pretty cheap here.

I went back to the hotel, had some wine and cheese. (the cheese was pretty stinky, not at all what I'm used to...) and had a nap. I woke up around 11pm, and wandered down to the Metro, and got off at Chatelet, and on the way out found this CRAZY long moving sidewalk, that not only was longer than the one that used to be in Spadina Station in Toronto, but at the end, bent UPWARDS and kept going! I'll try to find it again and take a picture. Chatelet is a HUGE station though. More on that later. I went to McDonalds for dinner, and had some good ol' greasy food. Interestingly, the food packaging is all en anglais, but the advertising stuff isn't (the posters in the windows, the placemats, etc.) They also publish the nutritional info on the cheeseburger wrapper, but only for women and girls. I think it's something like 105% of their daily recommended fat intake. Hmm...

Went home and slept. Tomorrow I'm going to find a power adaptor, so I can post these entries. I think I'll start the day with climbing the eiffel tower stairs, then.... dunno. G'night!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb