sunny saturday


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 31st 2005
Published: October 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

So saturday I did another little self-guided walking tour around Paris and here are some of the many things I saw:

-The fountain by the Pompidou Center (which I remembered from that one afternoon in Paris with family) I see the site pretty regularly as the Pompidou Center is pretty central. It's very Parisian having this totally modern, crazy colorful fountain right next to this old stain-glass church

-The oldest tower in Paris, dating back to the medieval period where Paris only existed on the two islands in the middle of the Seine. It's tiny, but you can probably figure out which one it is (with the brown cross bars it's unmistakably medieval). Behind is Notre Dame, but there's something about that little old tower that really draws me in.

-a barge passing along the Seine. I love being in a city where they really use the water for transportation and I can see it in use every day. Plus it's so cool to see the barges going one way all full and close to the water, and then going back the other way empty and floating high

-a fisherman. ok, this guy was actually fishing in the Seine. And I saw him catch a fish so I now know that there are indeed still fish in the Seine and apparently they can be eaten. But what with all the Parisians telling me how dirty it is, I never would have expected to see this. Still the sunlight and the setup made quite the image.

-one of me at the tour eiffel. super touristy of course, but I think it's prettier at night. We sort of accept the eiffel tower as part of the parisian landscape to the point where we can't imagine paris without it. But it's true that it's strange here, it's not hard to see why the parisians thought it was so ugly at first. But it sparkles every hour and you can't deny then that it looks pretty cool. This photo is taken from right underneath the tower. I'm flying.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



2nd November 2005

Flying, indeed
Flying, Indeed.
13th November 2005

that's a big
fishing pole. are you ok? i hear tons of stuff is going on in paris with the riots....

Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb