Do you like the Sacre Coeur?


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
February 2nd 2008
Published: February 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Sacré Coeur is one of the most visited ground in Paris. It is located right above the Moulin Rouge Area (Pigalle aka le Gai Paris).

The history of the site is closely related to one of the most unexpected insurection of Parisian Citizens against religious uprising power at that time.

As the religious uprising was sustained by the political power. The answer was quick and violent. Many people lost their life in the fights.

To comemorate the victory of the troops. French power built the Sacre Coeur in order to house a religious order there.

From this comes only one lesson.

Revolution is useless in France, it always bring an opposit result.
I am neither for revolution nor for revolutionists. But in all case I am for remembering properly the event that built the Sacre Coeur in that place.

I have heard about submission ? Knowledge is no surrender.

I have been asked about the most important historic figure I knew of:

My answer is Gutenberg aka Johannes Geinsfleisch.

Advertisement



15th February 2008

I visted Sacre Coeur many years ago when I visted Paris. I went on a Siene river cruise and saw it from a distance! But Gutenberg is an important person in the history of communication No Gutenberg= No printing press= No books :O Truly an unfathomable life...
15th February 2008

Forgot to write my name..he previous comment was made by me...

Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb