Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 3rd 2007
Published: October 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Paris 1Paris 1Paris 1

Go the All Blacks
We left Athens and a quick 3 hours later, arrived at Paris Orly airport.
A little bit of navigation of the Paris tube required before settling in to our new home for the next few days, Residence Foch Hotel.
I now have a raging headcold and therefore was sent straight to bed under instruction from Doctor Bing.
I had a small nap, whilst Bing checked out the local 'Shopi' and provided us with a good supply of bagette, cheese, ham & coke.
Later, I negotiated a 20 minute walk around the local area with Doctor Bing.
We checked out the Arc de Triomph and even walked to the top of it's 238 steps which provided us with stunning 360 degree views of the city.
The next day we were introduced to Banana & Chocolate roadside crepes. To understand how good they were, I mentioned whilst dribbling chocolate from my chin, that I only wanted to eat these for breakfast for the rest of my life.
I had decided to wear my All Black Jersey out today to wind up the French as much as possible.
We walked up to the Eiffel tower, and what do we see? A gigantic rugby ball
Paris 2Paris 2Paris 2

Eiffel Tower
emblazzoned with 100% NZ.
I pranced around it a bit in order to represent my country with dignity.
Next on the Agenda was the Louve and a quick shot of the Mona Lisa and a look around the foundations of the castle ruins beneath the Louve.
I was still pretty sick so we limited our academic fullfillment and headed back to the hotel.
We headed out later for dinner in an area known as St Michel which is close to Notre Dame.
This place was awesome for dinner and was just like a an international food court located in a maze of cobbled narrow streets.
We saw at least two Greek restaurants that actually smashed plates on the entrance to attract visitors.

The next day, Chris & Sharon arrived and we re-checked out the Banana & Chocolate Crepes with them and the Eiffel tower.
This time I had a companion who wasn't scared of heights and Sharon and I headed to the top of the Eiffel.
We were treated to a rendition of Frereshaka (sp?) by some crazy German tourists on the descent down the crampt elevator so of course, that was the highlight.... NOT!
Our evening entertainment was
Paris 3Paris 3Paris 3

Arc de Triomph
Moulin Rouge which is the craziest Cabaret show I have ever seen.
It was mainly interesting due to the topless Can-Can girls but the snakes, shetland ponies and talking dogs were also amusing.
Although is was 100 Euros each, it was money well spent. It probably worked out to about 10c per breast so I reackon that's fairly good value for money in a pervy French way.

I have also been speaking French.
I have been using 'Pardon' wherever possible as it's one of only about three words I know.

AuRevoir


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Paris 4Paris 4
Paris 4

The Louve - Pointy in parts
Paris 5Paris 5
Paris 5

Notre Dame
Paris 6Paris 6
Paris 6

Sharon at the top
Paris 7Paris 7
Paris 7

Mr Eiffel is a bit of a dummy
Paris 8Paris 8
Paris 8

I feel toilet
Paris 9Paris 9
Paris 9

Yeah!! NZ are number 1! The Eiffel tower said so.
Paris 10Paris 10
Paris 10

The girls enjoy a waffel
Paris 11Paris 11
Paris 11

Sacre Cour
Paris 12Paris 12
Paris 12

The girls are very excited about Moulin Rouge
Paris 13Paris 13
Paris 13

The boys are obviously unaware of the content of the show


5th October 2007

Really cool trip!
Sounds like a great time. Neat pics. Do you travel alot?

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb