Paris, Prince & Nice


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 10th 2007
Published: September 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well Steve has gone back to Oz now which was very sad... Emma & I have just arrived at the hostel in Nice after a VERY big few days. I've had about 8 hours sleep in the last 3 days... I'm waiting for our room to be ready at the moment I just wanna go to bed.

Paris was AWESOME! I loved it. When Em & I got there on fri night, we went out to Saint Michel for some dinner & had a bit of a walk around, that was quite full on, all these Parisien men just step in front of you trying to get you to talk to them, seemed sleazy to me but apparently that is the Parisien way... We just had to look straight ahead & not look anyone in the eye, every 2 seconds there would be another one jumping out at you! Dodging the frogs! Then at about 2am we decided to try to catch a cab home which is IMPOSSIBLE in Paris. There was about 50 people waiting in a queue but no cabs turning up. Apparently they restrict the number of cab licenses so that cab drivers always have business as cab licenses are about 100,000 euro! They're like crayfish boat licenses, these guys apparently earn alot of money! Anyway these 3 portugese people that live in Paris (2 guys & 1 chick) came up & started chatting & gave us the lowdown on cabs, said it would probably be better to wait a bit so we went & had a drink with them & then tried again to get a cab, but there was still a massive line, so we decided to try & wing it & ended up taking our high heels off & walking home which took about an hour. Em knew the general direction & all we had was a tube map & ended up eventually finding our hotel at about 4:30am. We were quite proud of ourselves.

Anyway on saturday, we had a massive day, the weather was absolutely perfect, about 28 degrees & not a cloud in the sky.We started off going to Moulin Rouge to see if we could get tix but there were none available, so we walked to Sacre Ceurre which is basically a church up on the only hill in Paris with a full view of the city, we grabbed some of this yummy takeaway dim sum, & went & sat on the grassy hill which was lovely. Then we caught a bus to the Arch De Triumph & walked up the Champs Elysee & on the way Em & I both bought this red dress which is really lovely, so I can say I bought that dress in Paris! Then we saw this place called Lido which is kinda like a Moulin Rouge & bought tix for the 11:30pm show which was 90 euro with a half bottle of champagne each but we thought stuff it lets do it! The we walked up to the Lourve & went inside there & saw the Mona Lisa & not much else, had a bit of a walk around but we were on a tight schedule so left there & eventually found a supermarket in St Germain & bought a heap of nibbly foods & a bottle of beer & caught a bus to the Eiffel Tower & sat on the grassed area & had a picnic for dinner. Then we had to go back to the hotel to get ready for the show, went to the show which was good, the costumes & the venue were amazing but it was kinda tacky in a funny kinda way, Em said Moulin Rouge is alot better. Then we went & met a friend of Emmas called Jad & his friends who lives in Paris at the Buddha Bar, didn't stay there for too long though. Then they took us to this amazing club called Queen on the Champs Elysee, oh my gosh we loved it! Music was awesome. To get in you either had to pay 25 euro which Em & I weren't keen on paying, or you but a bottle of vodka between a few of you & you get to go in the VIP area which was sort of fenced off in the middle of the club. This is what we ended up doing but Em's mates paid thank god as the bottle of vodka cost about 200 - 250 euro!!! Bugger me! They're investment bankers so dont think money was an issue but that's frickin extortion!! We didn't end up getting back to the hotel until about 7am which I was pretty amazed at myself that I lasted that long! So we got a few hours sleep & set the alarm for 10:30am to leave for the airport at 11:10 am. Anyway I didn't hear my alarm as I was dead to the world & woke up at 11:10am when we were supposed to leave! So we panicked, packed in record time & rushed off to the airport! Arrrgghhh, it was hell! But we managed to get there in time made our way to London, when we eventually got to our hotel we were both about to lose it after carrying our suitcases up & down a million set of train station stairs in both Paris & London! So Prince was last night & he was sooooo awesome! He had the whole place rocking, he's a brilliant performer! We were with Em's 3 friends from Sheffield who came down for the concert & they were really good fun, we went back to our hotel room afterwards & had a great night. Except we didnt have much sleep & had to leave for the airport at 6:30am. Tried to have a bit of sleep on the plane but there was a screaming child right next to us so didnt have much luck. We were meant to pick up the hire car from Nice airport but we're both so tired from last night, so we caught a cab to the hostel & were going to go pick up the car later when we've had some more sleep as in no state to drive at the moment & dont think it would've been a very safe thing to do..

So thats my up to date story, in desparate need of a good nights sleep, cant wait to hit the beach! I've got lots of great pics but I'll put them on later when I ask Steve how to reduce the size of them again. He was very handy while he was with me as he did all this for me!

Advertisement



13th September 2007

soooooo tired
Sounds like you squeezed the juice out of Paris in record time! I'm still waiting for some action...thought I felt contractions this morning...but they went away :-(. I haven't had a full nights sleep for soooo long, so I feel fairly similarly tired as you do I'm sure.
13th September 2007

you missed one!
Shop that is! Glad you loved Paris, you certainly got around. Keep up the good work. Au Revoir Chris
13th September 2007

wish i woz there
I think you're having WAY too much fun without me, young lady. Time for you to come home now. :)

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb