juste une semain


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
July 23rd 2007
Published: July 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I have one more week left in my adventure! This is both a good and bad thing, I am excited to see my friends and family, but sad to leave my french family and this wonderful place. I am finding that as I grow up time is moving much faster. Arriving here, it seemed like I had forever, and all too soon it is coming to an end.
Last night I got to see the National Ballet of Cuba. I enjoyed it because i do not get to see many classical dance performances. The only other ballet i have seen was the Nutcracker in San Fransisco, and i found this to be much different. It was somewhat like watching them practice, there were no fancy costumes, lights or backrounds, it was pure dance. Although i enjoyed seeing how skillfull the dancers were, i think i like the costumes and lights, so this show was not one of my favorites. But is was cool that it was in the grand palace right next to the seine.
I have spent most of my days with the AFS group doing site seeing stuff, or just walking around. The other day I had this rasberry rose ice cream that was amazing!! It tasted just like roses smell. The other night i went out to dinner with some friends. We went to this little resturant next to notre dame, and the food was really good. I had muscles and duck, two of my favorites!
I am finding that the french are very protective of their women. Not like the americans, whos dads just dont want their daughters dating till there 16, but in everthing. Girls arent allowed to go out at night, while boys are, not even for sleepovers at a friends house. And this is a cultural thing, its not just my family. I had thought I would be doing things like i do at home, like going out at night with my friends to the movies, or just hanging out, but I am finding myself doing little of these things. Im sure this pleases my parents, but I wanted to see more of the french teenage culture. Oh well, I am doing alot of of other cool stuff, and simply living in a new country is exciting in itself.
Today it is raining, its very deppressing. I was going to go on a pique nique with some friends, but we cant know. The weather is so confusing, sometimes its hot, and other times it rains. My french parents say they have never seen a summer in france like this. At the south of france on the beaches it is like 16 to 23 celcius, which i think is only the upper 70s and lower 80s in degrees!! I am finding no time to wear the cute shirts and skirts i brought!! lol
One of the things I really enjoy doing here is watching the news. I know, im weird.. But its cool, because I can underdtand it, and i learn alot. I dont watch the news much at home, but I think the news here is much less censored. The news covers floods in Ireland, war in Iraq, tourism in Paris, genoside in Africa, Sarkosy, and Global warming all in 20 minutes!! Its amazing.
This week im going to Versailles, and maybe Euro disney!! I should end this letter here and get off the computer and go enjoy FRANCE!!
See you guys in a week!!
Gros Bisous
Chelsea

Advertisement



Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb