A concert and a crepe!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

BONJOUR!!!
Tonight we went to a concert at Sainte Chapelle, which was built in 1248. It is going through a reconstruction, but we were able to sit in the upper chapel. The stained glass windows were magnificent and the music was soothing and listening to Vivaldi in such a historical and beautiful venue was breathtaking - a true Parisian experience. Classes are alright, but it is quite difficult to be inside for three hours when there is so much to explore and experience right outside the classroom. The UF Paris Research Center is located in Montparnasse, which is also where our hotel is located. The area is very bohemian and is very similar to NYC’s Greenwich Village, minus the skyscrapers and plus the Parisians.

I ate a crepe for dinner and a crepe for dessert, but I must say the dinner crepes and the dessert crepes are quite different. The dinner crepe was filled with cheese, ham, and mushrooms, but was dry. It could have used a sauce or an egg (as the others came with) on top. But the dessert crepe was heavenly: chocolat, Chantilly, and nuoix du coco (chocolate, whipped crème, and coconut).

Tomorrow I am
rue Lecourbe rue Lecourbe rue Lecourbe

This is the view I had from my hotel room the first night I arrived...It stayed light out until about 10:15pm!!
hoping to go to Bon Marche, which is the largest department store, and first department store, in Paris. We will see if I can pick up any goodies!!! I have included pictures from yesterday’s 7 mile journey through the streets of Paris, including the Eiffel Tower and the Arc de Triumph, as well as pictures of me and some others that are part of my program (for those readers who are not in school with me!). Until next time, AU REVOIR!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The gates to the Sainte ChappelleThe gates to the Sainte Chappelle
The gates to the Sainte Chappelle

This is where we saw a concert...Absolutely beautiful!


26th June 2007

awesome
I am so happy AND so jealous you are having an amazing time! now bring me back something good!! haha miss you!
26th June 2007

Crepes
Crepes = Really thin pancakes...Crepe suzette, I love the crepe suzette, I just wanna climb in the crepe suzette Talladega Nights, good education about crepes there. Glad you are enjoying Paris, especially the food! Miss you!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb