A Night at the Paris Opera House


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
February 24th 2005
Published: November 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Exterior of the OperaExterior of the OperaExterior of the Opera

I bought the performance tickets a week in advance, even with that amount of lead time I still nearly missed getting seats.
Grand Opera Feb 24, 2005

To see a performance at the Paris Opera House should be high on anyone’s list of must sees when in Paris. This is one of the few events that I remember the actual date that I was there (birthday). All other dates for attractions and towns are close approximates (typically within two or three days) no further than a week off at the very worst.

All I can say is wow, stunning, incredible. While the seat was nothing to write home about the whole cultural experience was one that I’ll never forget. I hope to return to the opera house again in the future.

My suggestion to you is prebook tickets if you really want to go. You won’t regret it even if the performance is a yawn.

Oh yes, this was one of the few times that I got to wear my suit jacket that I’d packed along with me. I was very surprised that it was in as good of condition that it was after eight months of on the road travel.

Au revoir!




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

The Grand StaircaseThe Grand Staircase
The Grand Staircase

By Charles Garnier.
Act OneAct One
Act One

click, buzzzzzz, zzzzzzz, click click click, chirp.
Act TwoAct Two
Act Two

Parisians Take On American Culture and Lifestyles
Opulence Opulence
Opulence

I quickly identified the ceiling as a work of Marc Chagall. While art history helped the visit to Chagall’s museum in Nice a month earlier was more educational.
Closing time - time for you to go out, go out into the world.Closing time - time for you to go out, go out into the world.
Closing time - time for you to go out, go out into the world.

Quick rush to empty the building after the performance.


12th November 2006

Opera
I could feel the excitement of your Parisian Opera experience while viewing your excellent photos. For my last year's trip to Poland, I had purchased a new Blazer and dress slacks in hope that a concert performance in Warsaw or Krakow would coincide with our visit, but this turned out to be the only disappointment in our travels there. We even missed out on the piano performance at the home of Fredrick Chopin. This was really a let down, but I survived! Jim

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb