14 Days in "The City of Light" -- Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
February 25th 2005
Published: November 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Eiffel Tower at NightEiffel Tower at NightEiffel Tower at Night

As seen from the esplande du Trocadero. A cold night, but that goes without saying for the time spent in Paris.
I was in and around Paris for just over two weeks. I don’t have the luxury of referring to my travel diary so rather than doing a day by day recap I’ll build my blogs up around sites visited. I was in the city long enough that I became very familiar with the subway system and the location of the central neighborhoods.

While in Paris I saw a performance at the Grand Opera House, walked around the city in snow, toured a half dozen gothic chapels/cathedrals, and the typical tourist stops (museums, tours, etc…). I ended up at the Eiffel tower on nearly a daily basis (typically at night).

I look forward to returning to Paris. I hope that it’s sooner rather than later.

What is your favorite Parisian experience?

I'll leave my writing to this and let you enjoy the photos. Note there is a small video icon that you can click on that has a short 6 second clip of the tower at night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Eiffel Tower by DayEiffel Tower by Day
Eiffel Tower by Day

From esplande du Trocadero. I came to the Eiffel tower almost daily. Typical subway taken: Line 6, Stop: Passy.
Eiffel Tower Illuminations and Rooftop BeaconEiffel Tower Illuminations and Rooftop Beacon
Eiffel Tower Illuminations and Rooftop Beacon

Every hour on the hour for ten minutes the tower sparkles with sodium lamp bursts. The beacon, a xenon lamp seeps the night sky and I've been told that it can be seen 80km away under the right condtions.
The Moon and the TowerThe Moon and the Tower
The Moon and the Tower

Can it get better than this?
Looking North From the TowerLooking North From the Tower
Looking North From the Tower

Iena Bridge, Tracadero Gardens, Palais de Chaillot (Colonnaded building to the right), Musee de I'homme (mirror opposite building to the left), and in the distance the La Defense business district.
From the tower looking south.From the tower looking south.
From the tower looking south.

Champ de Mars (park like area)
Wow the tower is really robust. Wow the tower is really robust.
Wow the tower is really robust.

Photos taken from a distance hide the fact that the Eiffel tower is a massive and robust structure. Almost a little scary.
Paris a 2012 Olympics Candidate Paris a 2012 Olympics Candidate
Paris a 2012 Olympics Candidate

I was in Paris at the height of the Olympic bid. I’m glad London ended up winning. I’ve committed to myself to at least return to London for the Olypics, but I’m sure I’ll be there before then.


4th November 2006

Paris
These are beautiful photos of your visit in Paris. My only Parisian experience was as a kid, smelling the fragrance from my aunts empty perfume bottle, "Evening in Paris"!! Maybe someday I will be so fortunate as you were to visit there. Jim

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 20; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb