Champlitte


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Franche-Comté » Besançon
January 25th 2008
Published: January 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Saint VincentSaint VincentSaint Vincent

Here he is, in all his glory. Actually it's a statue...I hope you realized that...
This past week I had the privilege of going to Champlitte, a small town in my region, to participate in a festival that dates back to 1612. The festival is for Saint Vincent, the patron saint of wine. Obviously, wine is a large part of the culture here in France, and it was a delight to have the opportunity to experience this festival/ceremony. In the morning, there was a long ceremony that resembled a mass--it was certainly Catholic in nature--but there were differences. For example, there were several speeches integrated into the mass and also at one point all the people that reigned from foreign countries were asked to stand on the stage in a circle while holding candles. I'm not entirely sure what the purpose of that was... Then we went outside to watch some folk dancing, taste some wines, and try several types of breads and cakes. After that was a six hour meal of seven courses accompanied by five different kinds of wine and champagne. It definitely rivaled Thanksgiving. Some of the food was absolutely revolting and foreign, but I tried it all. That's been my attitude so far toward everything in France. As long as I try
Folk DressFolk DressFolk Dress

All the participants in the festival were dressed in Medieval garb.
it, I'll have no regrets. And all the wine was fantastique! I hope you enjoy the photos I've added.
Today we finished with our intensive courses (which is a relief, because to be honest they were quite boring) and found out the results of our placement exams. I tested into the level one higher, so hopefully it'll be challenging. Our regular semester courses will begin on Monday, so I guess it's time for me to tuck in and get ready to work for real now.
I'm not sure if it's getting any press in America, but there is a massive strike going on here in France right now. I'm not sure exactly how they work, because unions here are different than in the states, but it's basically all the people that work for the state, which in France includes teachers, all public transport, post offices, pretty much everyone to be honest. But it's not required of people to go on strike if they're in the union...it's a little confusing for me because it's all being explained in French, of course. But anyway, apparently there are certain days that are designated as "super strike" days, and everyone that supports
The ChurchThe ChurchThe Church

It was very old and very beautiful, all decorated for the festival.
the ideas of the strikers (even if they're not a part of the regular strike) also strike. So yesterday there were a lot less buses than there have been, the university cafeteria was closed, my host sister's classes were all canceled, and the best part, my socio-cultural workshop was supposed to go to a museum but it was closed. So instead of having class, our professor took us to a bar and we all had a drink and some good conversation. It was quite out of the ordinary, and reminded me, once again, of the differences between French and American attitudes/behavior.
OH! And the most exciting part of this week, I found Ben & Jerry's! I was so excited I almost peed my pants. It was probably the highlight of my week, a little taste of home. It definitely cost 7 Euro for a pint ($10.50) but I think it'll be a worthwhile splurge now and again. All in all, it's been a great week here on my end. Please continue to send me emails and messages, I love hearing what's going on in the great state of Nebraska.

A bientot
SFech


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

A (Not so Good) View of the ProcessionA (Not so Good) View of the Procession
A (Not so Good) View of the Procession

At least you can see the stained glass windows...
Me and SarahMe and Sarah
Me and Sarah

Enjoying the wine and traditional cakes.
My PlateMy Plate
My Plate

Three glasses for wine...oh dear...


Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0738s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb