Weekends


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Franche-Comté » Besançon
January 7th 2007
Published: January 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

3/4 of the Family3/4 of the Family3/4 of the Family

Pierre, Marie and Michel (the dad) on our walk to the centre ville.
The weekends are a bit different here - at least in my vast experience 😉 It's truly a time for relaxation, not running around like people tend to do in the states. I'm sure it'll be a little faster paced when I'm in the dorms with people my own age, but for now I'm kind of stuck in the middle of adults and children. I went running today, and it's quite a bit more difficult than in Nebraska
1) Because of the altitude
2)The hills
Needless to say, I didn't last very long. Exercise is not ingrained in the lifestyle here. Gyms aren't as easy to find, and it seems that people just walk a lot. It's strange too because so many of the women here are so thin. I just don't understand. I hope to bring some of that knowledge when I come back to Nebraska.

All is still well with the family. They are very accepting and open-minded, which makes it easy for me. But I am still struggling with how involved I should be with them. Is it considered rude to go up to my room and do my own thing? Should I hang out downstairs? It'll
3/4 of the Family3/4 of the Family3/4 of the Family

Pierre, Marie and Michel (the dad) on our walk to the centre ville.
be nice to see how a french family lives, but I'm anxious to live on my own terms again in three weeks.

The family life seems to be about the same here, but there are some differences. It seems like the family and kids have a lot of time together - they aren't on the go as much as american families. But then again, that could just be this particular family. All in all though, kids are kids. They fight, yell, run - the parents get mad. Same ol' same ol'.

I have a placement test tomorrow, so I suppose I better look over a few things. I a bit nervous ( although I shouldn't be because I'll be put where I need to be.)

Until next time...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Bunny Ears (kind of)Bunny Ears (kind of)
Bunny Ears (kind of)

Marie attempting to give me bunny ears.
The kidsThe kids
The kids

Marie et Pierre. I suppose they have a Sam/Elizabeth relationship circa 1994


7th January 2007

Family Life
So, you are with the family for 3 weeks and then move into a dorm? It would be a tough balance; knowing how and when to interract and when to be alone...it will be easier on school days. Do both the mom and dad work? Where? Perhaps you can set a bit of a schedule for your self--(ie) morning run, interaction, room for a couple of hours for "reading and studying" etc... Do they go to church or have a faith structure? Are they strict with their children or do they allow back-talk etc? Maybe Patrick and Jackson will want to move to France...maybe we'll let them!!:) Talk to you soon! Love, Sarah
8th January 2007

Hi Elizabeth! The Travel blog is AWESOME! I love seeing and reading about your experiences. Your family looks very nice and the kids are beautiful. They look like they'd be lots of fun, too. Keep us posted on your experiences at home and at school! Think of you OFTEN! Love, Mom
8th January 2007

your brother
Sounds like you are having a wonderful time and that things are a little different. I never thought I would say that I miss you but I do. I think it is just my envy. The little girls is cute as all get out; she seems like she likes you and will follow you around a lot. I am glad you are having a good time. Try and keep yourself busy elizabeth becasue you and I both know you are the lazier one of both of us. Now that I found your travel blog I will keep in touch. Miss you much sis, one love. Sam

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb